News Nation Logo

Kerala Elections: Who came to power so far?

Politics In Kerala Is Dominated By Two Coalition Fronts - The Communist Party Of India (Marxist)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) And The Indian National Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) Since Late 1970s. Ever Since 1982 The Two Coalitions Have Been Shuffling Places To Serve The State With Their Services.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Ankit Pal | Updated on: 31 Mar 2016, 02:51:46 PM


Politics in Kerala is dominated by two coalition fronts - the Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) and the Indian National Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) since late 1970s. Ever since 1982 the two coalitions have been shuffling places to serve the state with their services.

Most of the major political parties in Kerala, except for Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), belong to one or the other of these two alliances and have in the past shifting allegiances a number of times.

Here are the Election results which brought leaders in the state:

Year UDF LDF Others Government (majority)
77 63 0 UDF (14)
1987 61 78 1 LDF (16)
1991 90 48 2 UDF (40)
1996 59 80 1 LDF (20)
99 40 1 UDF (59)
2006 42 98 0 LDF (56)
72 68 0 UDF (6)

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Kerala Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 31 Mar 2016, 02:44:00 PM