News Nation Logo


Assembly Elections 2018: BJP releases first list of 177 candidates for MP; 24 and 28 candidates list for Mizoram, Telangana

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 02 Nov 2018, 05:50:30 PM
Assembly Poll 2018: BJP releases first list of 177 candidates for MP (File Photo)

New Delhi:

With the 2018 Assembly Elections just a few days away, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released its first list of 177 candidates for the Madhya Pradesh polls later this month. While Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan will contest the election from Budhni, state ministers Narottam Mishra and Yashodhara Raje Scindia will be in fray from Datia and Shivpuri respectively.

Apart from that, the Saffron party has also announced a list of 24 candidates for Mizoram and 28 candidates for Telangana assembly elections early Friday morning.

Read | Congress releases final list of 19 candidates for Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections

The candidates' list for upcoming assembly polls came on the heels of BJP's Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting on Thursday. The CEC meet took place at party headquarter in New Delhi and marked the attendance of some prominent figures like Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Party president Amit Shah, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Home Minister Rajnath Singh among others.

Madhya Pradesh is all set to go to poll on 28 November and will decide the fate of candidates in 230 constituencies. The tenure of Madhya Pradesh assembly is scheduled to end on January 7, 2019.

Read | Will work together to defeat BJP, save India, says Rahul Gandhi after meeting TDP chief Naidu

Polling will take place in Mizoram and Telangana on November 25 and December 7 respectively. The last date of filing nominations is 9 November and the counting of votes will be held on 11 December.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Madhya Pradesh Election News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 02 Nov 2018, 11:59:17 AM