News Nation Logo


Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls: Samajwadi Party releases list of six candidates

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 07 Oct 2018, 12:05:39 AM
Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls: SP releases list of six candidates (File Photo)

New Delhi:

Hours after former Uttar Pradesh CM Akhilesh Yadav snubbed the Congress for making them wait "too long" for an alliance in Madhya Pradesh, the Samajwadi Party chief Saturday released its list of six candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in the state.

The fresh move came just days after Mayawati ruled out any BSP alliance with the Rahul Gandhi-led party for Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections, a setback for opposition’s efforts to form an anti-BJP front ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha election.

"Samajwadi Party releases the list of six candidates for Madhya Pradesh #AssemblyElection2018," the news agency ANI reported.

Read | After Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi Party hints at dumping Congress in Madhya Pradesh

Early in the day, the Election Commission announced the dates for 2018 assembly elections in five states - Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram and Telangana.

The 230-seat Madhya Pradesh assembly is scheduled to go to poll in a single phase on November 28 while the counting of votes will be held across the five states on December 11, Election Commissioner OP Rawat said.

The last date for candidates to file nomination is November 9 and scrutiny of nomination will be on November 12.

Read | Amit Shah in Ratlam Kisan Sammelan LIVE: BJP ensures money meant for tribals was not syphoned off

Talking about four other states, Chhattisgarh will go to the polls in two phases on November 12 and 20, while Mizoram Assembly elections will be held on November 28. Polling in Rajasthan and Telangana will take place on December 7, the ECI said.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Madhya Pradesh Election News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 06 Oct 2018, 08:35:02 PM