News Nation Logo

Madhya Pradesh Elections: Congress releases its first list of 155 candidates

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 03 Nov 2018, 11:56:17 PM
Madhya Pradesh Elections: Congress releases its first list of 155 candidates

New Delhi:

The Congress on Saturday releasesd the first list of candidates for 155 seats and the nominees included Ajay Singh, the leader of opposition, and former Union minister Suresh Pachouri for the upcoming assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh.

The party has also fielded former chief minister Digvijaya Singh's son Jaivardhan Singh and brother Lakshman Singh from Raghogarh and Chachoura seats respectively. Ajay Singh, son of former chief minister late Arjun Singh, will fight from Chruhat. 

Earlier, the central election committee meeting remained inconclusive after Digvijaya Singh and Jyotiraditya Scindia reportedly exchanged heated notes in the presence of party chief Rahul Gandhi.

This was followed by a meeting of the leaders from Madhya Pradesh and the central screening committee of the state chaired by Madhusudan Mistry with Ahmed Patel, Ashok Gehlot and M Veerappa Moily. This forced Gandhi to ask Patel, Gehlot and Moily to sit with the "warring" leaders and resolve the differences, they said.

On Friday, Madhya Pradesh Congress leader Premchand Guddu joined the BJP, a development described by the ruling party leaders as an indication of the falling fortunes of the opposition in the poll-bound state. Premchand Guddu, a scheduled caste leader who was an MLA and MP, joined the saffron party in the presence its senior leaders from the state, including Narendra Singh Tomar, Thaawarchand Gehlot and Kailash Vijayvargiya, and hit out at the Congress as a party of "raja and maharaja". 

With the 2018 Assembly Elections just a few days away, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released its first list of 177 candidates for the Madhya Pradesh polls. While Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan will contest the election from Budhni, state ministers Narottam Mishra and Yashodhara Raje Scindia will be in fray from Datia and Shivpuri respectively.

Polls for the 230-member assembly will be held on November 28. 

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Madhya Pradesh Election News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 03 Nov 2018, 09:33:56 PM