News Nation Logo

Maharashtra Assembly Polls: NCP Releases First List Of 77 Candidates, Fields Ajit Pawar From Baramati

The Party Also Fielded Dhananjay Munde From Parli And Dilip Walse Patil From Ambegaon.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 02 Oct 2019, 11:24:11 PM
Ajit Pawar is NCP chief Sharad Pawar's nephew.

New Delhi:

The Sharad Pawar-led NCP released its first list of 77 candidates for the upcoming Maharashtra Assembly elections, fielding senior party leader Ajit Pawar from Baramati seat.

Ajit Pawar represents the Baramati segment. The party also fielded Dhananjay Munde from Parli and Dilip Walse Patil from Ambegaon. Chhagan Bhujbal, whose name was doing round for chances of joining the Shiv Sena, has been fielded from Yeola. Rohit Pawar, NCP chief Sharad Pawar's grandson also got a chance into the electoral politics.

He has been given the party ticket from Karjat Wankhede. NCP leader Sunil Tatkare's daughter Aditi Tatkare will fight from Shriwardhan constituency, contesting against her cousin Avdhut Tatkare who was recently inducted into the Shiv Sena.

State NCP chief Jayant Patil will contest from Islampur, and Bhujbal from Yeola. Mumbai NCP president Nawab Malik will contest from Anushaktinagar in Mumbai. From Kej, the party has fielded Prithviraj Sathe. Earlier, it had announced Namita Mundada's candidature, but she joined the BJP. 

The NCP list comes soon after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday released its second list of 14 candidates for the Assembly polls. The former NCP leader Namita Mundada, who was inducted recently into the BJP was given ticket from Kaij (SC). 

In the first list, the BJP announced the names of 125 candidates and said it will contest the election in an alliance with the Shiv Sena and some smaller parties. Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis will contest the polls from the Nagpur South West seat and the Maharashtra unit chief of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Chandrakant Patil, from Kothrud in Pune, according to the list released by the party's general secretary, Arun Singh.

Singh said the party had not given tickets to 12 of its MLAs. In a joint statement issued by the BJP and the Shiv Sena on Monday, it was announced that the seat-sharing had been finalised between the alliance partners.

The Republican Party of India (A), the Rashtriya Samaj Paksh, the Shiv Sangram Sanghatna and the Rayat Kranti Sena are the other constituents in the "Mahayuti" (Grand Alliance).

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Maharashtra Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 02 Oct 2019, 11:24:11 PM