News Nation Logo


Results 2019: Salute Each And Every Karyakarta, Will Continue To Work With Same Zeal, Tweets PM

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 24 Oct 2019, 06:56:42 PM
Assembly Results 2019: Salute each and every Karyakarta, will continue to work with same zeal, tweets PM Modi

New Delhi:

Assembly Election Results 2019: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday took to Twitter to congratulate the BJP officials and workers for their performance in Maharashtra and Haryana. While the party has retained Maharashtra, it has emerged as single largest party in Haryana. “People of Maharashtra have blessed the NDA with immense affection. We are humbled to have got the people’s support yet again. Our work towards Maharashtra’s progress continues! I salute each and every Karyakarta of the BJP, Shiv Sena and our entire NDA family for their hardwork,” he said. “I thank the people of Haryana for blessing us. We will continue to work with the same zeal and dedication for the state’s progress. I laud the efforts of hardworking @BJP4Haryana Karyakartas who toiled extensively and went among the people to elaborate on our development agenda,” he added.

In Maharashtra, the BJP was hovering at the 100 mark with leads in 101 of the 288 seats and its partner Shiv Sena ahead in 64 seats. The Congress was leading in 37 seats, behind its ally Nationalist Congress Party that was ahead in 54 seats, the Sharad Pawar-led party faring way better than its parent party.

In 2014, when the BJP and the Shiv Sena fought elections separately in the western state, the BJP won 122 seats and the Sena 63. The Congress bagged 42 and the NCP 41.

This time, the BJP contested 164 seats and its ally 124.

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis won over his Congress rival Ashish Deshmukh in Nagpur South West. Making his political debut, Shiv Sena's Aaditya Thackeray established a comfortable win in the Worli Assembly constituency.

In Haryana, where BJP leader Manohar Lal Khattar is seeking a return to power, it looked like a hung assembly with no clear winners. The BJP was leading in 38 of the 90 seats and the Congress in 32.

In an electoral contest with no clear winner, Dushyant Chautala could well emerge kingmaker with his Jannayak Janta Party leading in 10 seats. The INLD was leading in two, Independents in six and the BSP in one. Taking a swipe at the Bharatiya Janata Party's "Mission 75", Chautala said it would fall way short of its target of winning 75 seats.



For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Maharashtra Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Oct 2019, 06:38:43 PM