News Nation Logo


Ramdas Athawale ‘Upset' With Seat-Sharing Deal Between BJP, Sena

The Bharatiya Janata Party And The Shiv Sena Have Formally Announced Their Seat-sharing Deal And According To Their Poll Pact, The BJP Will Contest 150 Seats, While The Sena Will Get 124 Of The 288 Assembly Seats.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 05 Oct 2019, 10:22:27 PM
Out of 14 seats, the RPI has been given six seats and remaining to other smaller allies.

New Delhi:

Days after the Republican Party of India (A) ceded to contest the upcoming Maharashtra Assembly elections on lotus symbol, party chief Ramdas Athawale on Saturday expressed his displeasure on the seat-sharing deal between Shiv Sena and BJP. However, he assured to stand by the decision for the sake of Ambedkar followers in the power.

“RPI (A) is unsatisfied with the seat-sharing between parties of Shiv Sena-BJP alliance, but will keep supporting it to keep up the stake of Ambedkar followers in power,” the Union Minister tweeted.

The Bharatiya Janata Party and the Shiv Sena have formally announced their seat-sharing deal and according to their poll pact, the BJP will contest 150 seats, while the Sena will get 124 of the 288 Assembly seats. Rest 14 seats have been given to other smaller allies. Out of 14 seats, the RPI has been given six seats and remaining to other smaller allies.

In 2014, the Sena and the BJP had ended their alliance ahead of the state elections. The BJP had emerged as the single largest party winning 122 seats while the Sena pocketed 63 seats. Later, both parties came together to form the government.

The Maharashtra Assembly elections is slated to be held on October 21 and the counting of votes will take place on October 24.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Maharashtra Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 05 Oct 2019, 10:22:27 PM