News Nation Logo

Mizoram Election Result 2018: MNF wins 26 seats, Zoramthanga set to be chief minister for third time

Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla Loses Both Serchhip, Champhai South

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Varun Sharma | Updated on: 11 Dec 2018, 11:03:08 PM
Zoramthanga is a former chief minister and will replace Lal Thanhawla this time as the exit polls have predicted. (File photo)

New Delhi:

Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018: Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla resigned on Tuesday evening following the debacle by the Congress in the assembly election and admitted that he had "underestimated" the opposition strength. The five-time chief minister said he also underestimated the "extent of the anti-incumbency wave". Thanhawla had been at the helm of the government in the north eastern state for two consecutive terms since 2008. His resignation was accepted by Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan who asked him to continue in office till alternative arrangements were made.  

The BJP also opened its account in the state for the first time with BD Chakma winning from Tuichawnd constituency. Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, who contested from Champhai South and Serchhip, has also lost both the seats. He lost Champhai to the MNF's TJ Lalnuntluanga, while Serchhip was snatched by Zoram People's Movement's (ZPM) chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma. Zoramthanga is a former chief minister and will replace Lal Thanhawla this time as the exit polls have predicted. Lal Thanhawla first became the chief minister of Mizoram in 1984. Zoramthanga remained the chief minister for two consecutive terms from 1998 to 2008.

Here are the live updates of Mizoram Assembly Elections results 2018:

10. 45 pm: Mizoram Final Result: Mizo National Front wins 26 seats, Congress wins 5 seats, others 9 seats.

08.00 pm: Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla resigned following the debacle by the Congress in the assembly election and admitted that he had "underestimated" the opposition strength.

05.41 pm: Mizoram Assembly Elections Vote Share: MNF: 37.6%, Congress: 30.2%, BJP: 8%, Independents: 22.9%.

05.40 pm: Mizoram Assembly Election FINAL RESULTS (40/40) - Mizo National Front (MNF): 26, Congress: 5, Independents: 8, BJP: 1.

04.40 pm: 

04.24 pm: BJP's Buddha Dhan Chakma wins Tuichawng constituency in Mizoram, defeats MNF candidate Rasik Mohan Chakma by 1,594 votes.

04.23 pm: Buddha Dhan Chakma becomes BJP's first MLA in Mizoram.

04.21 pm: Mizo National Front (MNF) gets a majority in Mizoram. 34/40 results have neem declared so far. MNF: 23, Congress: 5, BJP: 1, Independent: 5.

04.18 pm: 

03.08 pm: Independent candidate Lalchhuanthanga wins from Aizawl South-II constituency in Mizoram, defeats MNF's Denghmingthanga.

03.07 pm: Independent candidate C Lalsawivunga wins from Aizawl South-I constituency in Mizoram, defeats MNF's K Liantlinga.

03.05 pm: Independent candidate Vanlalhlana wins from Aizawl North-I constituency in Mizoram, defeats MNF's Lalringliana.

02.34 pm: Results declared in Mizoram: 25 - MNF: 16, Congress: 4, Independent: 5.

02.00 pm: According to ECI, MNF vote share is 37.6% in Mizoram till now. Congress is at 30.0%. BJP: 7.4%. 

01.26 pm: Independent Lalduhoma defeats Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla from Serchhip constituency. Lalduhoma: 5,481 and Lal Thanhawla: 5,071.

01.25 pm: F Lalnunmawia of the MNF defeated the Agriculture minister K S Thanga by a margin of 2,037 votes in Aizawl South-III seat.

01.16 pm: Mizo National Front wins 12 seats, Independents win 7 seats in Mizoram.

12.50 pm: MNF candidate K Lalrinliana is leading from Kolasib constituency in Mizoram.

12.40 pm: Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla trailing in Serchhip constituency. Independent Lalduhoma leading.

11.58 am: Mizo National Front candidate and former chief minister Zoramthanga is leading from Aizawl East-I constituency in Mizoram.

11.57 am: Mizo National Front candidate Dr Zr. Thiamsanga is leading from Champhai North constituency in Mizoram.

11.54 am: Mizo National Front candidate Lalrinliana Sailo is leading from Chalfilh constituency in Mizoram. 

11.32 am: MNF candidate TJ Lalnuntluanga defeats Mizoram Chief Minister and Congress candidate Lal Thanhawla from Champhai South seat. Lalnuntluanga: 5,212 and Lal Thanhawla: 4,163.

11:10 am: MNF candidate Rasik Mohan Chakma is trailing from Tuichawng constituency in Mizoram.

10:50 am: Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla is trailing from Champhai South and Serchhip constituencies.

10:20 am: MNF gets a massive majority in Mizoram in trends. MNF leads in 27 seats, Congress is leading in 8 seats.

09:51 am: Mizo National Front's Tawnluia is leading from Tuichang seat in Mizoram.

09:48 am: MNF gets a majority on its own in early trends.

09:40 am: Mizo National Front's Ramthanmawia is leading from East Tuipui seat in Mizoram.

09:30 am: MNF is leading with 17 seats. Congress is leading in 12 seats.

09:10 am: MNF takes lead with 6 seats, Congress on 2, BJP opens its account.

08:55 am: BJP is leading in 1 seat in Mizoram for the first time.

08:40 am: Mizoram trends - MNF is still leading the race with 3 seats, Congress: 1, Others: 1.

08:26 am: MNF is leading in Mizoram with 3 seats. Congress is leading on 1 seat.

08:15 am: MNF takes lead in 1 seat in Mizoram.

08:05 am: The majority mark in Mizoram is 21.

08:00 am: Counting begins in Mizoram.

07:52 am: Counting for Mizoram Assembly Elections to begin shortly at 8 am.

07:45 am: MNF's Zoramthanga is looking for his third term in the state. He was the chief minister twice from 1998 to 2008.

07:38 am: Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla is looking for a hat-trick in Mizoram.

07:29 am: According to exit polls, the Congress is expected to be shown a door by the MNF in Mizoram.

07:20 am: According to exit polls, the BJP is likely to open its account for the first time in Mizoram.

07:15 am: The Congress party is contesting these elections without any CM face in four states apart from Mizoram. 

06:45 am: The counting of votes for Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018 will start at 8 am.

As per News Nation Exit Poll, Mizoram is seen as a direct contest between the Congress and MNF as in the previous elections in the state. While the survey gave 16-20 seats to the MNF, Congress is projected to win 10-14 seats. The Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) and the BJP may get 5-9 and 0-4 seats respectively in the state. According to Times Now-CNX Exit Poll, the MNF is likely to win 18 seats in the Assembly. The Congress may win 16 seats. The majority mark in the Assembly is 21 seats. According to C-Voter exit poll, the MNF is predicted to win 16 to 20 seats. The Congress is likely to win 14 to 18 seats. The poll predicted 3 to 7 seats for the ZPM. In the 2013 Assembly polls, the Congress had won 34 seats under the leadership of Lal Thanhawla, while the Mizo National Front (MNF) had won five seats and the Mizoram People’s Conference bagged one seat.

Both the Congress and the MNF are contesting on all 40 seats while the BJP has fielded candidates for 39 seats and the ZPM is contesting in 35 seats. Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla is contesting from Serchhip and Champhai South Assembly seats. MNF president Zoramthanga is contesting from Aizawl East-I. Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) founder Lalduhoma is contesting against CM Thanhawla in Serchhip. He is also contesting from the Aizawl West I seat. ZPM chief Reverend Zaichhawna Hlawndo is also contesting from Serchhip and Aizawl West-I. 

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Mizoram Election News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 10 Dec 2018, 06:28:34 PM