News Nation Logo

Mizoram Exit Poll 2018: MNF may dethrone Congress after 10 years, BJP may open its account

While Some Suggest That Mizoram May Well Have Its First Hung Assembly In 2018, Others Say That The Narendra Modi Government's Performance In The Christian-majority State Since 2014 Will Be Keenly Watched.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 08 Dec 2018, 08:16:55 AM

New Delhi:

The Mizo National Front (MNF) looks headed for facile victories in the 40-member Legislative Assembly of Mizoram which went to poll on November 28, the News Nation Exit polls predicted on Friday. As per the exit polls results, Mizoram is seen as a direct contest between the Congress and MNF as in the previous elections in the state. While the survey gave 16-20 seats to the MNF, the Congress is projected to win 10-14 seats. The Zoram Peoples Movement (ZPM) and the BJP may get 5-9 and 0-4 seats respectively in the state. However, another contending party - the National People’s Party (NPP) could play a vital role in the formation of the next government.

Among the five states that recently went to elections this November-December, Mizoram is the only Congress-ruled state in the northeast region. The BJP neither in power nor in a ruling coalition in the state.

Read | Madhya Pradesh Exit Poll 2018: Shivraj Singh Chouhan likely to retain power in neck-and-neck fight with Congress

Read | Chhattisgarh Exit Poll 2018: BJP's Raman Singh likely to lose state after 15 years, Ajit Jogi to be kingmaker

However, different exit polls are predicting different results for Mizoram. While some suggest that Mizoram may have its first hung Assembly in 2018, others say that the Narendra Modi government's performance in the Christian-majority state since 2014 will be keenly watched.

Both the Congress and the MNF are contesting for all 40 seats while BJP has fielded candidates for 39 seats and the ZPM is contesting in 35 seats. Aiming a third term in office, Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, among nine candidates who have filed nominations from multiple seats, is contesting for both the Serchhip and Champhai South seats. He has been the state chief minister since 2008.

Read | Rajasthan Exit Poll 2018: Congress to wrest power from BJP's Vasundhara Raje, likely to get 103 seats

MNF president Zoramthanga, who is seeking to oust Thanhawla after 10 years, will contest from Aizawl East-I against Congress's K Vanlalrawna and Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) nominee K Sapdanga.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Mizoram Election News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Dec 2018, 08:21:18 PM