News Nation Logo

Karnataka polls: Congress releases final list of candidates; CM Siddaramaiah to contest from Badami

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, Who Earlier Announced To Contest The Election From Chamundeshwari Seat, Will Be Contesting From Badami Constituency As Well.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 22 Apr 2018, 03:34:22 PM

New Delhi:

The Congress party on Sunday released its final list of candidates for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections 2018.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, who earlier announced to contest the election from Chamundeshwari seat, will be contesting from Badami constituency as well.

Siddaramaiah replaced Dr Devraj Patil, whose name was earlier announced to fight from the Badami constituency.

The party has also fielded KP Chandrakala in place of HS Chandra Mouli, the alleged lawyer of Mehul Choksi, from Madikeri.

Reacting to Siddaramaiah contesting from two seats, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge said, “Modi Ji also contested election from two seats. He (Siddaramaiah) is contesting election from the two constituencies (Chamundeshwari and Badami) under directions by Party’s High Command.”

Karnataka will go to polls on May 12 and the counting of votes will take place on May 15. 

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 22 Apr 2018, 03:26:59 PM