News Nation Logo

PM Modi congratulates Naveen Patnaik for his next term as Odisha Chief Minister

Odisha Went For The Elections For The 146 Seats In Legislative Assembly And 21 Lok Sabha Constituencies In Four Phases, Which Saw Lower Voter Turnout Due To Cyclone Fani.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 04:50:40 PM
PM Modi and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik

PM Modi and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik

New Delhi:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today took to Twitter to congratulate Naveen Patnaik as the trend show that the latter is all set to be sworn in as the chief minister of Odisha for fifth consecutive time. In his congratulatory tweet PM Modi wrote, “Congratulations to Naveen Babu for yet another victory in Odisha. Wishing him the very best for the next term.”

The BJD looked set to form its government for a fifth straight term negating a Modi wave that is sweeping the country, with its candidates leading in 112 of the state's 146 seats. Patnaik, who is contesting the Assembly polls from Bijepur and his home turf Hinjili, is leading on both the seats.

Odisha went for the elections for the 146 seats in Legislative Assembly and 21 Lok Sabha constituencies in four phases, which saw lower voter turnout due to Cyclone Fani. 

The BJP has struggled to establish itself in Odisha after 2009 - the year Naveen Patnaik broke ties with NDA. The Naveen Patnaik-led grand old party has not entered any pre-poll alliance with the BJP or Congress, but there are speculations in political arena that BJD might once again return to NDA. Naveen Patnaik has stated that BJD is ready to form a post-poll alliance with anyone willing to fulfill their demands. The warm hospitality extended by the Odisha CM to PM Modi during his visit to assess the situation after Cyclone Fani is being seen as a sign of BJD's inclination towards BJP.

Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur, Koraput went to election in the first phase of the general polls on April 11 while Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Aska went to polls in the second phase on April 18.

Meanwhile, Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Aska went for polling in the third phase on April 23 and the remaining constituencies--Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur-went to elections in the fourth phase on April 29.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Odisha Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 04:50:40 PM