News Nation Logo

Rajasthan Elections 2018: BJP releases fourth list of 24 candidates

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 19 Nov 2018, 12:20:26 AM
Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje (Photo Source: PTI)

New Delhi:

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released its fourth list of 24 candidates for the upcoming Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018, taking the total number of declared candidates to 194. On Saturday, the Saffron party had announced the third list of eight candidates for poll-bound Rajasthan. Minister Surendra Pal Singh will contest the Karanpur seat on a BJP ticket.

"Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) releases the fourth list of 24 candidates for Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018," the news agency ANI reported along with a notification from the party.

Read | Chhattisgarh Elections: Blazing guns fall silent as campaigning for 2nd phase ends

Meanwhile, miffed over being denied a BJP ticket for the upcoming elections, Ramgarh MLA Gyan Deo Ahuja on Sunday quit the party, announcing that he will contest the polls as an independent candidate.

Since last Sunday, when the ruling BJP released its first list of candidates for Rajasthan Elections, several party MLAs, including a state minister, have resigned. The party has so far dropped six sitting MLAs.

Former BJP MLA Ghanshyam Tiwari had won from the Sanganer seat in Jaipur in the 2013 elections. He quit the BJP in June this year over his differences with Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje and floated his own party.

Read | Chhattisgarh Elections: Key takeaways of BJP, Congress manifestos in Naxal-hit state

Rajasthan along with Telangana is going to polls on December 7. The counting of votes for the five poll-bound states Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Telangana will be held on December 11, 2018.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Rajasthan Election News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 18 Nov 2018, 10:52:35 PM