News Nation Logo

Rajasthan Elections 2018: Squabble in BJP over ticket distribution, former general secretary quits party

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 12 Nov 2018, 11:50:43 AM
Rajasthan Elections 2018: Squabble in BJP over ticket distribution, former general secretary quits party (PTI File Photo)

New Delhi :

A day after the BJP released its first list of 131 of the 200 candidates for the forthcoming Rajasthan Assembly elections, squabbling has starting in the party with former general secretary Kuldeep Dhankhar quitting the saffron party.

In his resignation letter to state BJP chief Madan Lal Saini, Dhankhar expressed his unhappiness over the ticket distribution. He was expecting ticket from Viratnagar constituency in Jaipur district. The BJP, however, overlooked Dhankhar and fielded sitting MLA Phoolchand Bhinda from Viratnagar.

The former Rajasthan general secretary of the saffron party accused Bhinda of misbehaviour and corruption and termed the decision to give him the ticket an “insult” of people of Viratnagar.

Suggested Read | BJP's first list of candidates for Rajasthan Assembly Elections

“The decision to give ticket to Phoolchand Bhinda from Viratnagar constituency is against the wishes of common people and party workers. The decision to field Bhinda, who has misbehaved with common people and encouraged corruption, is an insult of people of Viratnagar,” Dhankhar wrote in his resignation letter, a copy of which was also sent to BJP president Amit Shah and Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje.

Dhanakhar will now file his nomination from Viratnagar constituency as an independent candidate on November 16.

Late on Sunday night, the BJP had announced its first list of candidates for the upcoming Rajasthan Assembly elections. The names of 131 candidates were announced by Union Minister JP Nadda following BJP’s central election committee (CEC) meeting.

The meeting was attended by top BJP leaders and members of the saffron party’s central election committee, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, president Amit Shah, JP Nadda, Sushma Swaraj and Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje.

Also Read | Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018: Naxals trigger IED blast in Dantewada, target security forces on polling day

The election for the 200-member Rajasthan Assembly is scheduled to be held on December 7 in a single phase. The BJP is facing a stiff challenge from the Opposition Congress with most Opinion polls predicting a one-sided victory for the Grand Old Party.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Rajasthan Election News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 12 Nov 2018, 11:44:57 AM

Related Tags: