News Nation Logo


Rajasthan Elections: Congress releases first list of 152 candidates, Pilot to contest from Tonk

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 16 Nov 2018, 07:07:21 AM
Rajasthan Elections: Congress releases first list of 152 candidates, Pilot to contest from Tonk

New Delhi:

The Congress late Thursday night announced its list of candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections in Rajasthan. Former Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot and state Congress chief Sachin Pilot figured in the party’s first list of 152 candidates. Gehlot will be contesting from Sardarpura constituency in Jodhpur while Pilot will fighting the polls from Tonk.

ALSO READ | Telangana Elections 2018: BJP releases third list of 20 candidates

Earlier, former Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot denied having any rift with state Congress chief Sachin Pilot and said that they both will fight the December 7 Assembly elections.

Former National Commission for Women chief Girija Vyas will contest from Udaipur, while senior party leader C P Joshi will be party nominee from the Nathdwara assembly seat.

Lok Sabha MP from Congress Raghu Sharma, who won the bye-elections in Ajmer earlier this year, will contest the elections from Kekri constituency in Ajmer district.The Leader of Opposition in the Rajasthan Assembly, Rameshwar Lal Dudi, is the Congress's candidate from the Nokha assembly seat.

AICC Secretary Harish Chaudhary will be contesting the polls from the Baytoo seat.

Muslim candidates who will be fighting the elections include Ameen Kagzi from Kishanpole, Naseem Akhtar Insaaf from Pushkar, Rahaman from Nagaur, Zakir Hussain Gaisawat from Makrana, Saleh Mohammed from Pokaran and Ameen Khan from Sheo. 

Former BJP leader Harish Meena who recently joined Congress will be contesting from Deoli-Uniara constituency.

Earlier, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced its first list of candidates for the upcoming Rajasthan Assembly elections. The names of 131 candidates were announced by Union Minister JP Nadda following BJP’s central election committee (CEC) meeting.

ALSO READ | Deepika Padukone - Ranveer Singh wedding pictures finally revealed

The BJP has fielded Raje from her traditional Jhalrapatan Assembly seat in Jhalawar district. She has been contesting from this seat since 2003. The party has also fielded its Lok Sabha MP Sona Ram Choudhary.

In the first list of candidates, 85 sitting MLAs have been retained, while 25 news faces have also been given tickets. The party has also given tickets to 12 women.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Rajasthan Election News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 16 Nov 2018, 07:01:38 AM