News Nation Logo


Telangana Assembly Elections: These 5 Congress leaders can replace KCR as CM, click here to know them

Let's Discuss Who Can Be The Congress Chief Minister In Telangana, In Case The Party Gets The Majority.

News Nation Bureau | Reported By : Varun Sharma | Edited By : Varun Sharma | Updated on: 11 Dec 2018, 09:41:00 PM
Telangana Chief Minister and Telangana Rashtriya Samithi (TRS) leader K Chandrasekhar Rao is likely to be in a spot of bother if we see the results of News Nation exit poll.

New Delhi:

Telangana Assembly Elections 2018: Telangana Chief Minister and Telangana Rashtriya Samithi (TRS) leader K Chandrasekhar Rao is likely to be in a spot of bother if we see the results of News Nation exit poll. According to it, the TRS is likely to be the single largest party in the state with 53-57 seats. However, this is below the majority mark of 60 seats in the 119-member strong Assembly. News X- NETA Exit Poll has predicted 57 seats for the TRS and Republic-C-Voter Exit Poll has projected 48-60 seats for KCR and 47-59 seats for the Congress party. It is clear from the exit poll results that the Congress-led 'Mahakutami' is giving a tough fight to the KCR-led TRS in Telangana. The Congress party's last-minute alliance with Chandrababu Naidu's TDP and TJS can pay dividends. However, the Congress didn't contest the elections with any chief ministerial candidate in Telangana also. Let's discuss who can be the Congress chief minister in Telangana, in case the party gets the majority. 

Uttam Kumar Reddy: He is heading the Telangana Congress currently and considered as one of the topmost contenders for the chief minister's position in the state. Sources say he has the support of Congress president Rahul Gandhi and if the Congress gets a majority on its own then Uttam Reddy could become the chief minister. He is the man behind the 'grand coalition' idea in the state. He is known to be the architect of an alliance with TJS, CPI and TDP. He is again contesting from Huzurnagar Assembly seat. He was the minister of housing during the undivided Andhra Pradesh government.

K Jana Reddy: Jana Reddy is also one of the chief ministerial candidates for the party in Telangana. He is the Leader of Opposition in the Telangana Assembly. Reddy started his political career with the TDP but later on joined the Congress. He was one of the senior most ministers in the ministries of chief ministers YS Rajasekhara Reddy and Kiran Kumar Reddy. He was elected to Assembly several times from the Chalakurthi Assembly constituency. He has been representing Nagarjuna Sagar constituency since 2009.  

S Jaipal Reddy: Senior leader Reddy is also eyeing the Telangana chief ministerial post if the Congress party comes to power. He was the member of Lok Sabha from the Miryalguda seat from 1999 to 2009. He represented the Chevella seat of Telangana from 2009 to 2014. Reddy was the Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha in 1991-92. He served as a Union Minister in IK Gujral and Manmohan Singh governments. He was earlier with the Janata Dal.

T Jeevan Reddy: He is another senior member of the Congress in Telangana. He is currently an MLA from Jagtial constituency and represented the seat six times. He was first elected as a TDP member in 1983 but later joined the Congress party. He is also a deputy leader of the Congress Legislative Party.  

A Revanth Reddy: He is also one of the frontrunners for the chief minister's post in the state. He is contesting from Kodangal Assembly constituency but this time on a Congress ticket. He was with Chandrababu Naidu and crossed over to the Congress party from the TDP. He is currently Congress Working President in the state. Revanth Reddy was recently arrested by the Telangana Police. The police had stated that he was arrested on the orders of the Election Commission. He is a star campaigner for the party in Telangana and had worked with K Chandrasekhar Rao.  

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Telangana Election News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 10 Dec 2018, 05:29:30 PM