News Nation Logo

Telangana Bypoll Results 2019: TRS Candidate Saidi Reddy Shanampudi Wins Huzurnagar Assembly Seat

Telangana Bypoll Results 2019: The Ruling Telangana Rastra Samithi (TRS) Has Won The Huzurnagar Assembly Bypoll In Telangana. TRS Candidate Shanampuri Saidi Reddy Won The Seat With A Record Margin Of 43,624 Votes Over His Congress Rival N Padmavati Reddy.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 24 Oct 2019, 06:08:50 PM
Telangana Bypoll Results 2019: TRS Candidate Saidi Reddy Shanampudi Set To Win Huzurnagar Assembly Seat

New Delhi:

The ruling Telangana Rastra Samithi (TRS) has won the Huzurnagar Assembly bypoll in Telangana. TRS candidate Shanampuri Saidi Reddy won the seat with a record margin of 43,358 votes over his Congress rival N Padmavati Reddy. N Padmavati Reddy gets 74,638 votes. Independent candidate Sapavath Suman came third with 2,693 votes. While the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s Kota Rama Rao managed to get 2,621 votes, Chava Kiranmai of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) secured 1,827 votes and both of them lost their deposits.

It is worth mentioning here that the TRS candidate had consistently maintained his lead from the first round. Though many had assumed the weeks-long transport strike in the state may have an impact on the poll results, the ruling TRS camp, led by Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao, came up with an impressive show. 

Earlier, in the day, Saidi Reddy expressed confidence about his victory. He had credited the leadership of TRS president and Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao for his impressive performance. The TRS leaders and workers began celebrations over the party's good show. 

It is to be noted that an estimated 84.15 per cent of voters exercised their franchise on Monday in bypolls for Huzurnagar Assembly seat. Though 28 candidates were in the fray, the contest was among the candidates of ruling TRS, Congress, BJP, and TDP. Uttam Kumar Reddy’s wife N Padmavati, a former MLA, is the Congress candidate, while TRS again fielded S Saidi Reddy, who lost to the PCC president in the Assembly polls. Kota Rama Rao, a medical doctor, and Chava Kiranmayi are the candidates of BJP and TDP respectively. 

The bypoll, the first after last year's assembly elections in Telangana, has been necessitated due to the resignation of state Congress president N Uttam Kumar Reddy following his election to Lok Sabha in the general elections. TRS enjoys a massive majority in the assembly having a strength of 100 in the 120-member House.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Telangana Election News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Oct 2019, 07:10:53 AM