News Nation Logo

Samajwadi Party Announces Names Of Two Candidates For Upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly Bypolls

Earlier, The Congress Party Had Announced A List Of Five Candidates For Ensuing Bypolls To The Legislative Assembly Of Uttar Pradesh.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 27 Sep 2019, 01:53:49 PM
Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav (File Image)

New Delhi:

The Samajwadi Party on Friday announced the names of two candidates for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly bypolls. According to the list announced by the party, Major Ashish Chaturvedi will contest from Lucknow Cantt, whereas Samrat Vikas will fight from Govindnagar, Kanpur.

Earlier, the Congress party had announced a list of five candidates for ensuing bypolls to the Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh. Congress president Sonia Gandhi has approved the names of five candidates for Uttar Pradesh and one candidate for Chhattisgarh’s Dantewada assembly seat bypoll, the party said.

The Congress has fielded Devti Karma as its candidate from Dantewada-(ST) constituency.  In Uttar Pradesh, the party fielded Nauman Masood from Gangoh, Dilpreet Singh from Lucknow Cantt, Ranjana Pandey from Manikpur, Neeraj Tripathi from Pratapgarh and Tanuj Punia from Zaidpur.

Tanuj Punia, the son of senior party leader P L Punia, had earlier contested the 2019 Lok Sabha polls from Barabanki parliamentary seat, losing to BJP candidate Upendra Rawat.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Uttar Pradesh Polls News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Sep 2019, 01:53:49 PM