News Nation Logo

UP Bypoll | BJP Created Pressure To Change Gangoh Assembly Result: Priyanka Gandhi

The Congress, Which Was Initially Ahead In Gangoh Constituency, Was Overtaken By The Ruling Saffron Party In Later Rounds Of Counting.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 24 Oct 2019, 04:04:21 PM
Priyanka Gandhi said the Election Commission should conduct a fair inquiry into the matter.

New Delhi :

Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi on Thursday accused the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) of creating pressure on election commission officials to manipulate counting figures.

"The BJP is so arrogant that our candidate who was about to win was forced out of the counting center in Gangoh by a BJP minister to manipulate the counting figures. DM was called five times to reduce the lead. This is a complete insult to democracy," Priyanka tweeted.

“Uttar Pradesh Congress Party will fight strongly against it. The Election Commission should conduct a fair inquiry into the matter,” she added.

The Congress, which was initially ahead in Gangoh constituency, was overtaken by the ruling saffron party in later rounds of counting.

The ruling BJP and ally Apna Dal (S) are ahead in eight places as counting progressed in 11 Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh on Thursday.

The BJP is now leading in seven seats and ally Apna Dal (S) in one. The Samajwadi Party is ahead in two, while the Bahujan Samaj Party is leading in the remaining seat.

The BJP is also leading in Manikpur, Ghosi, Iglas, Lucknow Cantt, Govindnagar and Balha, while ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) is ahead in Pratapgarh. The SP is ahead in Rampur and Zaidpur, while the BSP is ahead in Jalalpur.

Of the 11 seats of the state where bypolls were held on Monday, eight were held by the BJP and one by ally Apna Dal (Sonelal). Two other seats were shared by the Samajwadi Party and the BSP.

The bypolls were mostly necessitated after sitting legislators got elected to the Lok Sabha in May. The Ghosi seat fell vacant following the resignation of sitting MLA Phagu Chauhan after he was appointed as Bihar governor.

The BJP currently has 302 members in the 403-member assembly, NDA ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) has eight MLAs, the SP has 47, the BSP has 18, while the Congress has seven.

With PTI Inputs

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Uttar Pradesh Polls News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Oct 2019, 03:44:04 PM