News Nation Logo


Assembly Election Results 2016 LIVE: Poll results claim success of BJP campaign – 'Congress Mukt Bharat': Amit Shah Live

Trends Show That BJP Is All Set To Wrest Assam From Congress. The Latter Is Also Appears To Be Losing Kerala As Incumbent TMC And AIADMK Are Cruising Comfortably To Retain Power In West Bengal And Tamil Nadu.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Bindiya Bhatt | Updated on: 19 May 2016, 03:54:41 PM

New Delhi:

BJP created history in Assam by ousting Congress which also lost Kerala to the Left front while incumbents AIADMK and Trinamool Congress retained power in Tamil Nadu and West Bengal for a second consecutive term. The tiny Union Territory of Puducherry appears headed for a hung house with the ruling AINRC and Congress-DMK alliance locked in a close fight.

Assam voted for change with Congress, which had been in power for the last 15 years, being routed by the BJP-led alliance which is ahead in 80 out of 126 seats. Marking a new surge, BJP, which had five seats in the last elections, was on its own leading in 56 seats now. Its allies AGP and Bodo People’s Front were ahead in 15 and 12 constituencies. The Congress, which had bagged 78 seats in the last elections, was struggling by leading only in 27 seats. (Also read: Assam Election Results 2016: BJP surges ahead of the ruling Congress in Assam)

AIUDF, led by Badruddin Ajmal, was leading in 09 seats while Independents were ahead in 6 constituencies. The major surprise in the Assembly elections in four states and Puducherry was a strong show by AIADMK, which several exit polls had projected to lose.

Bucking tradition, the Jayalalithaa-led party was well on way to retaining power for a second term in a state which had not returned a ruling party to power since 1989. But it was also not a washout for the opposition DMK, which put up a reasonably good show by leading in 87 seats as against AIADMK’s 130 in a house of 234. AIADMK has won one seat. (Also Read: Tamil Nadu Assembly Election Results 2016: Leads show Jayalalithaa to remain Chief Minister)

The Congress was ahead in 10 seats and IUML, a DMK ally, PMK and PT were leading in one seat each. The third front of parties headed by Vijaykant’s DMDK has failed with even the actor himself trailing in his seat. (With inputs from agencies)


For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, West Bengal Assembly Polls News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 19 May 2016, 07:25:00 AM

Related Tags:

Election Results 2016