News Nation Logo

Union Budget 2019: Govt to soon put in circulation new series of divyang-friendly coins of up to Rs 20

Prime Minister Narendra Modi On March 7 Had Unveiled The New Series Of One Rupee, Two Rupees, Five Rupees, Ten Rupees And Twenty Rupees Coins, Easily Identifiable To The Visually Impaired.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 05 Jul 2019, 04:02:28 PM
Prime Minister Narendra Modi unveiled new series of coins (File Photo)

New Delhi:

In one of the longest Budget speech, peppered with Urdu, Hindi and Tamil couplets, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Friday said it will soon make available for public use the new series coins of one, two, five, 10 and 20 rupees.

"A new series of coins of Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10, Rs 20 easily identifiable to the visually impaired were released by the PM on 7th March 2019. These coins will be made available for public use shortly," Sitharaman was quoted as saying at Parliament.   

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on March 7 had unveiled the new series of one rupee, two rupees, five rupees, ten rupees and twenty rupees coins, easily identifiable to the visually impaired. The coins, designed by National Institute of Design, were unveiled at a special function for divyangs, attended by then Finance Minister Arun Jiatley and Minister of State (MOS) for Finance Pon Radhakrishnan.

The new series will have additional features and characteristics as mentioned below:

  • The sizes, volumes, and weight of these coins increase from lower to higher denominations.
  • The Rs 20 coin will be 12 sided with no edges or serrations. Rest of coins are round in shape and structure.
  • Aid and assist blind and other disable prone children to carry monetary transactions seamlessly in their daily routine.

For all the Latest Business News, Budget 2020 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 05 Jul 2019, 04:02:28 PM