News Nation Logo

Government Extends CBDT Chairman PC Mody's Tenure

According To The Order, The Appointments Committee Of The Cabinet (ACC), Headed By Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Has Approved “re-appointment' Of Mody For A Period Of One Year.

PTI | Updated on: 29 Aug 2019, 01:50:57 PM
PC Mody had taken charge of the top job in February. (Image Credit: ANI)


  • PC Mody is 1982-batch Indian Revenue Service (Income Tax cadre) officer.
  • He was to retire on August 31, 2019.
  • Mody has been given a 1-year extension. 

New Delhi:

The tenure of Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) Chairman PC Mody has been extended by an year, a government order said on Thursday. According to the order, the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC), headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has approved “re-appointment” of Mody for a period of one year.

He was to retire on August 31. A 1982-batch Indian Revenue Service (Income Tax cadre) officer, Mody, took over as the Central Board of Direct Taxation (CBDT) chief in February.

The ACC in an another order appointed 1983-batch IRS officer Prabhash Shankar as a new member in the CBDT.

There are still two vacancies in the Board. The other members are PK Dash, Akhilesh Ranjan and Neena Kumar.

While Dash and Kumar are holding additional charges apart from their regular duties, the CBDT chairman is holding the charge of investigations in an additional capacity.

The CBDT is headed by a chairman and can have a maximum of six members. It frames policy for the Income-Tax Department.

For all the Latest Business News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 29 Aug 2019, 01:50:57 PM