News Nation Logo


GST rollout: 22 states including Delhi, Maharashtra abolish check posts

Within Three Days Of The Implementation Of The Goods And Services Tax (GST), As Many As 22 States Including Delhi, West Bengal And Maharashtra On Monday Abolished Check Posts.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Vivek Arya | Updated on: 03 Jul 2017, 09:30:32 PM
Representational Image

New Delhi:

Within three days of the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST), as many as 22 states including Delhi, West Bengal and Maharashtra on Monday abolished check posts.

According to a finance ministry statement, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Assam and some north-east states are also in the process of abolishing check posts.

State border check posts examine material and location-based tax compliance, which result in delays in goods’ delivery. It also cause environment pollution as trucks queue up for clearance.

ALSO READ: Tamil Nadu govt warns of action against those charging rates beyond GST

One of the biggest tax reforms in India, the GST came into effect form July 1 and its objective was to make the country a single market in order to make the flow of goods and services seamlessly.

Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Haryana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Kerala are among the other states which have abolished the check posts.

With the check posts’ abolition, the extended queues will not be seen at state borders.

ALSO READ | GST impact: Sensex jumps 300 pts to close at 31,221.62; Nifty at 9,615

For all the Latest Business News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 03 Jul 2017, 09:23:00 PM

Related Tags: