News Nation Logo


DUSU Elections 2018 Results Updates: ABVP bags three posts, NSUI one; Ankiv Baisoya is DUSU president

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 14 Sep 2018, 12:04:15 AM
DUSU Elections 2018 Results: ABVP bags three posts, NSUI one; Ankiv Baisoya is DUSU president  (Photo Source: Twitter)

New Delhi:

The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) bagged three posts, including president, vice president and Joint Secretary, while the National Students' Union of India (NSUI) won secretary post in the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) elections 2018. 

ABVP’s Ankiv Baisoya defeated NSUI's Sunny Chillar by more than 2000 votes to become the DUSU president, Shakti Singh won the election to won the polls for the vice-president posts, while NSUI’s Akash Choudhary won the polls for the post of secretary. Jyoti Chaudhary from ABVP won the polls for the post of joint secretary.

The counting for the DUSU elections was halted midway on Thursday due to "faulty EVMs and the students' uproar over it. The counting was initially stopped for an hour when there were allegations of EVM malfunction. However, following objections by students, the election officials decided to suspend the counting.

Scores of students from across the national capital were waiting eagerly as the results for 2018 DUSU Elections was scheduled to be announced on Thursday, September 13, 2018. The counting kick-started at around 8 am where students’ organisations like ABVP, the NSUI, CYSS and AISA was fighting the battle of reaching out to the maximum number of students.

Earlier on Wednesday, amid tight security and party members making some last-minute attempts to woo voters, the Delhi University Students' Union polls ended peacefully with a high voters turnout. Around 1.35 lakh students (44.46 per cent) cast their votes to decide the fate of 23 DUSU candidates. There was an increase in this year's voter turnout as a total of 43 per cent turnout was witnessed in DUSU polls 2017.

The DUSU 2018 elections took place at 52 centres in different colleges affiliated to the Delhi University. While around 700 personnel were stationed in the north campus, over 500 personnel were deployed in the south campus.

Here are the Highlights on DUSU Elections 2018 Results:

# 09: 45 pm: ABVP bags three posts, including president, vice  president and Joint Secretary, while NSUI won the secretary post: ABVP’s Ankiv Baisoya and Shakti Singh won the election to the DUSU president and vice-president posts respectlively, while NSUI’s Akash Choudhary won the polls for the post of secretary. Jyoti Chaudhary from ABVP won the polls for the post of joint secretary.

# 07: 00 pm: ABVP ahead after 12 rounds: ABVP candidates for president, vice-president and joint secretary posts are leading after 12 rounds of votes counting; NSUI's secretary candidate is ahead by a small margin.

# o5: 45 pm: Vote counting resumes: Counting has resumed after being suspended due to fault in EVMs. The counting resumed from 7th round. A total of 16 rounds of counting will take place.

# 03:00 pm: Counting of votes suspended for the day due to 'faulty' EVMs:  While the Congress-affiliated NSUI is demanding fresh polling for the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) election, the RSS's student wing, the ABVP, wants the counting of votes, which has been suspended, to be resumed. Meanwhile, with the supporters of both the groups shouting slogans against the Delhi University (DU) administration an election officer said a  fresh date for the counting will be announced soon.

 # 02:30 pm: Counting of votes suspended for the day due to faulty EVMs.

# 01:00 pm: NSUI's Sunil Chillar leading for president's post.

# 12:50 pm: Counting stalled again after six EVMs stopped working.

# 12:10 pm: Speculations have been rife that NSUI's Sunny Chillar is leading ahead of ABVP's Ankiv Baisova on the presidential post. However, the RSS-backed party is staying ahead of NSUI on vice-president, secretary and joint secretary post.

# 12:00 pm: Counting resumes after an hour of disruption.

# 11:15 am: Counting of votes came to an abrupt halt as the diaplay of an EVM machine is not functioning properly, according to reports.

# 09:30 am: ABVP's presidential, vice-presidential candidates reach the Community centre, Kingsway Camp, Delhi.

# 09:15 am: NSUI wins president's post in Zakir Hussain Evening College with a lead of more than 250 votes.

# 09:07 am: Security beefed up outside Community Center, Kingsway Camp.

# 09:05 am: ABVP candidate wins presidential polls in Zakir Hussain College (Morning).

# 09:00 am: NSUI takes lead over ABVP: Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has won 71 seats in 19 colleges. The RSS-affiliated party won in various colleges, including Hindu College, Shri Ram College of Commerce, Kirori Mal College, Bhagat Singh (Morning), Zakir Hussain (Morning), Dyal Singh (morning) colleges in Wednesday's poll.  The National Students' Union Of India (NSUI) won 75 seats in 20 colleges. They won in Sri Venkateswara College, Atma Ram Sanatan Dharma College, Aryabhatta College, Zakir Hussain College, among others.

Read | DUSU: NSUI dethrones ABVP; Congress celebrates, credits victory to Rahul Gandhi's US speech

Ankiv Baisoya (23) and Shakti Singh (23) have been chosen for ABVP’s presidential and vice-presidential candidate respectively. While NSUI has fielded Sunny Chillar (21) and Leena (23) for the post of president and vice-president. Abhigyan (18) and Ankshika (17) are fighting for the post of president and vice president under the banner of AISA-CYSS alliance.

Candidates contesting for the post of Joint Secretary are Jyoti Chaudhary (ABVP), Saurabh Yadav (NSUI), Sreejith K (SFI) and Sunny Tanwar (CYSS-AISA). On the other hand, Sudhir Dedha (ABVP), Aakash Choudhary (NSUI), Chandra Mani Dev (CYSS-AISA) and Subash Bhatt (SFI) are in the fray for the post of secretary.

Meanwhile, the student wing of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS), which witnessed a poor performance in 2015 DUSU polls, this year joined hands with leftist group All India Students' Association (AISA), affiliated with CPI-Marxist-Leninist to fight the battle.

Read | DU students to beautify properties defaced during DUSU polls: DMRC to HC

Talking about the poll promises, the NSUI has promised the 'Institute of Eminence' tag for Delhi University and thalis at Rs 10 in canteens while the ABVP is expected to spend 50 per cent of the union's budget on women and social justice-related activities, sports and installing sanitary pad vending machines in college campuses.

For all the Latest Cities News, Delhi & NCR News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 13 Sep 2018, 07:24:24 AM