News Nation Logo

Delhi Cabinet Reshuffled, Satyendar Jain Gets Jal Board, No Portfolio For CM Arvind Kejriwal

Also, The Women And Child Development Department Has Given To Rajendra Pal Gautam. Kejriwal, Who Has Been Holding The Delhi Jal Board Since AAP Rebel Kapil Mishra Was Discharged From The Portfolio, Has Decided No To Hold Any Portfolio.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 17 Feb 2020, 05:28:30 PM
Delhi cabinet

CM Arvind Kejriwal has decided not to hold any portfolio. (Photo Credit: PTI file)

New Delhi:

In a major reshuffle in the Delhi government Cabinet, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Monday decided to hand over the Delhi Jal Board to Satyendar Jain, while Gopal Rai has been given the charge of Environment Department. Also, the Women and Child Development Department has given to Rajendra Pal Gautam. The rest of the departments will continue as per the earlier allocations. Kejriwal, who has been holding the Delhi Jal Board since AAP rebel Kapil Mishra was discharged from the portfolio, has decided not to hold any portfolio.   

Besides Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia, Gopal Rai, Satyendar Jain, Imran Hussain, Rajendra Pal Gautam and Kailash Gahlot took the oath of office and secrecy at a mega event at the Ramlila Maidan in New Delhi.

Rajendra Pal Gautam, who had held the charge of social welfare and SC/ST in the previous AAP government, took charge of his office on Sunday, a few hours after the oath-taking ceremony.

Also Read | Arvind Kejriwal's Ministers Go By Their Choice, Take Oath In Different Ways

Sisodia, who was deputy chief minister in the 2015 Delhi Cabinet, will remain the Deputy CM in the new AAP government as well. He was also holding the Women and Child Development Department in the previous cabinet. Sisodia will continue to hold the education portfolio.

Similarly, there would be no changes in portfolios of Gopal Rai who was labour minister in the previous AAP dispensation.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP won 62 seats out of 70 in the Delhi Assembly elections, while the Bharatiya Janata Party bagged eight seats. The Congress drew a blank for the second consecutive time. 

For all the Latest Cities News, Delhi & NCR News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Feb 2020, 03:57:40 PM