News Nation Logo


Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake section of Delhi Metro's Pink Line to chug from October 31

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Srishty Choudhury | Updated on: 30 Oct 2018, 10:00:10 AM
Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake section of Delhi Metro's Pink Line to chug from October 31

New Delhi:

Commuters travelling to South Delhi from Northeast Delhi and vis-a-vis would now be able to cut down on travel time as the Delhi Metro's 17.8 km-long Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake section of the 59 km-long Majlis Park-Shiv Vihar corridor (Line 7) of the Pink Line is all set to chug from Wednesday.

This section will ease connectivity between North East Delhi and South Delhi by connecting Shiv Vihar and Lajpat Nagar. The Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri section will have 15 stations that will include Shiv Vihar, Johri Enclave, Gokulpuri, Maujpur, Jaffrabad, Welcome, East Azad Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Karkardooma Court, Karkardooma, Anand Vihar, IP Extension, Vinod Nagar, Vinod Nagar East, Trilokpuri. This part of Pink Line will also provide three interchange stations at Welcome (Red Line), Karkardooma Court and Anand Vihar (Blue Line) that will tremendously boost the connectivity of areas such as Shiv Vihar, Gokul Puri, Maujpur, Jaffrabad, among others. The Maujpur Station is a four track station having provision of connection from Maujpur to Mukundpur, a corridor proposed in Phase-IV of the Delhi Metro project.

Read More | Settlement of Ayodhya dispute calls for faith in Supreme Court

However, because of infrastructure constraints, trains on the Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake-IP Extension section will ply on single route with a frequency of a little over 15 minutes, Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) officials said on Monday."Due to constraints at Trilokpuri area, the section from there till IP Extension will enable plying of trains on a single line only till we resolve the issue.  The trains will run at a frequency of 15 minutes and 36 seconds," Executive Director, Corporate Communications at DMRC, Anuj Dayal told reporters.A bottleneck near Triloklouri station has arisen due to multiple issues, including land acquisition, resulting in a portion of metro segment, about few kilometres remaining incomplete, rendering the Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake station, a terminus.

"Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake station is not planned as a terminal or interlocking station which generally have crossovers for trains to change the tracks. Therefore, in the absence of a crossover for trains to turn back after terminating at this station, they can only be run on single line to provide the service in this section," he said.There are two stations on the Trilokpuri-Sanjay Lake and IP Extension section --  East Vinod Nagar-Mayur Vihar- II  and Mandawali-West Vinod Nagar.

Also Read | Aamir Khan does not cover hickeys, same cannot go for Karan Johar; Koffee with Karan 6 will reveal some fun-secrets

With a record height of 21 metres, the Karkardooma Metro Station is also the second highest point on the rail network. The Majlis Park – Shiv Vihar Corridor is crossing the existing Vaishali- Dwarka elevated line (Line-4) 21 metres above the ground and is 10 metres above the existing Metro line.

With the opening of this section, the Delhi Metro network will become 314 kilometres long with 229 Metro stations. After the inauguration of this section, Delhi Metro will have opened over 80 kilometres of new lines this year. All the major corridors under Delhi Metro's Phase 3 are expected to be opened for passengers by the end of the year.

(With PTI inputs)

For all the Latest Cities News, Delhi & NCR News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Oct 2018, 09:35:54 AM