News Nation Logo


Delhi Metro's Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri section to be opened on October 31

PTI | Updated on: 26 Oct 2018, 07:55:46 PM
Delhi Metro's Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri section to be opened on October 31 (Photo- Twitter)

New Delhi:

The 17.86 km-long Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake section of the Delhi Metro’s Pink Line will be opened for passengers on October 31.

The Commissioner For Metro Rail Safety (CMRS) had given the clearance after inspecting the elevated section in east Delhi on October 20.

“Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake section of Delhi Metro’s Pink Line will be formally flagged off for passenger operations on October 31 by Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Housing and Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia,” a senior DMRC official said.

Also Read | Titanic II set to sail by 2022, to follow the original journey

The elevated section consists of 15 elevated stations, three of which are interchange facilities.

The stations are Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake, East Vinod Nagar-Mayur Vihar-II, Mandawali-West Vinod Nagar, IP Extension, Anand Vihar ISBT, Karkardooma, Karkardooma Court, Krishna Nagar, East Azad Nagar, Welcome, Jaffrabad, Maujpur- Babarpur, Gokulpuri, Johri Enclave and Shiv Vihar.

“The main highlight of this section will be the presence of three interchange stations—Anand Vihar (with Blue Line), Karkardooma (with Blue Line) and Welcome (with Red Line),” he said.

After the opening of this new section, the Delhi Metro network will expand to nearly 314 km.

Once inaugurated, it will leave just the Lajpat Nagar-Trilokpuri corridor unopened.

Read More | CBI books Daati Maharaj, three others for alleged rape and unnatural sex

Incidentally, a small section near Trilokpuri is facing a roadblock, due to issues raised by local residents, which the metro has been resolving for a long time.

The Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake stretch is part of the 59 km-long Majlis Park-Shiv Vihar corridor (Pink Line) which falls under the Phase-III network of the DMRC.

On August 6, the Majlis Park-Lajpat Nagar corridor was inaugurated, taking the Pink Line span to 29.66 km, and the entire operational span of the DMRC to 296 km with 214 stations.

The first corridor of the Pink Line, spanning over 20 km, from Majlis Park to Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus, was opened on March 14, connecting north and south campuses of the Delhi University on the DMRC network for the first time.

For all the Latest Cities News, Delhi & NCR News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Oct 2018, 07:55:38 PM