News Nation Logo


DUSU Election 2019: NSUI Alleges EVM Malfunction, Illegal Detainment During Voting In Delhi University

Over 1.3 Lakh Students Are Eligible To Cast Their Vote In Delhi University Student Unions Polls.

PTI | Updated on: 12 Sep 2019, 03:27:14 PM
Delhi University Students Union Elections 2019 (Image: File)

New Delhi:

The polling for four positions of Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) is underway at 52 polling centres on Thursday, with 16 candidates in the fray and over 1.3 lakh students eligible to cast their votes. The polling began at 9.30 am.

National Students' Union of India claimed its joint secretary candidate Abhishek Chaprana was denied entry to polling booths in Dayal Singh College in south Delhi. The student outfit claimed Chaprana was illegally detained.

However, police said he was canvassing for votes outside the college, which is not allowed.

When he was asked not to canvass, he "misbehaved" with policemen and had to be detained, police said.

NSUI outfit also alleged malfunctioning of EVM at a college.

Ruchi Gupta, NSUI national in-charge tweeted, "Again, in Aryabhatt college, EVM is malfunctioning as usual AGAINST NSUI. When ballot is pressed for NSUI candidate, EVM does not light up to indicate registration of vote. Our rep is getting more details."

An election committee member said the votes were being cast but there was some problem with the light that glows. The was replaced, he said, adding 152 votes had been cast.

Over 1.3 lakh students are eligible to cast their vote in this election. Out of the 16 candidates in fray, there are only four women in contention, while two of them are contesting independently.

Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has fielded Akshit Dahiya for the post of DUSU president, Pradeep Tanwar for the vice president's post, Yogit Rathee for the general secretary's post and Shivangi Kherwal for the post of joint secretary.

The National Students Union of India (NSUI) has pitted Chetna Tyagi against Dahiya, Ankit Bharti for the vice president, Ashish Lamba for the secretary's post and Abhishek Chaprana for the post of joint secretary. 

Left-backed AISA's Damini Kain is standing for the post of president. Last year, the RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad had won three posts while the NSUI won one post.

For all the Latest Cities News, Delhi & NCR News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 12 Sep 2019, 03:27:14 PM