News Nation Logo


JNUSU Election Results 2018: Left Unity bags four central panel posts, N Sai Balaji new president

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 16 Sep 2018, 06:27:53 PM
JNUSU Election Results 2018 LIVE: Left Alliance scores massive win (Photo Source: Twitter/@jnu-voice)

New Delhi:

The days-long wait has finally come to an end as the results for JNUSU Elections 2018 has been announced on Sunday, September 16, 2018. The united front of Left student groups AISA, SFI, AISF, DSF swept the election by winning all four central panel posts at Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), the election committee announced Sunday.

N Sai Balaji clinched the president's post after winning 2,161 votes while Sarika Choudhary bagged 2,692 votes to be elected the vice president. Aejaz Ahmed Rather and Amutha Jayadeep have scored a massive win to claim the post of General Secretary and Joint Secretary of JNUSU respectively.

The Left-backed All India Students' Association (AISA), Students' Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Students' Federation (DSF) and All India Students' Federation (AISF) have joined hands to form the United-Left alliance.

Besides that, other major students' organisations, who were contesting the JNUSU elections, include ABVP, BAPSA and NSUI. A total of eight candidates were in the fray for the prestigious posts in the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students' Union (JNUSU).

Read | JNUSU Election 2018: Polling underway for 4 crucial posts; eight candidates in fray

Here are the highlights on JNUSU Election Result 2018:

# 14:12 pm: N Sai Balaji elected as the President, Sarika Chaudhary as the Vice President, Aejaz Ahmed Rather as the General Secretary and Amutha Jayadeep as the Joint Secretary.

# 14:10 pm: After counting of all 5,185 votes, Left Unity wins all four posts of President, Vice President, Joint Secretary and Secretary. Here are the final figures:

# 13:25 pm: Students belonging to Left Unity are seen celebrating at Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) campus.

# 12:56 pm: Of the 5,185 votes, 4,709 have been counted for the four crucial posts. As per the latest figures, Left Unity is taking a massive lead in President, Vice President, Joint Secretary and Secretary posts.

# 11:40 am: After counting 3587 votes, United Left (SFI-AISA-AISF-DSF) is leading in all four central panel posts, by 804, 1114, 877, 561 votes respectively.

# 11:33 am: Vice President: After the counting of 3587 votes Left Unity is leading with 1807 votes, ABVP is at 693.

# 11:05 am: Joint Secretary: In the latest vote counts for the post of Joint Secretary, Left Unity's Amutha is still leading with 1312 votes.

# 10:10 am: General Secretary: For the General Secretary Post, Aejaz Ahmad Rather of the Left is leading with 1351 votes, Ganesh Gurjar of the ABVP in the second with 778 votes.

# 10:05 am: Joint Secretary: Of the 5,185 votes, 2,706 have been counted till now for the Joint Secretary post. As per the latest reports, Left Unity's Amutha is leading with 1049 votes. Kanaklata Yadav (BAPSA), Nureng Reena (NSUI) and Venkat Chaubey (ABVP) are on the race with 345, 374 and 695 votes respectively.

# 10:00 am: President Post: Independent is at 13 while Student RJD, Sawarna Chhatra Morcha, GSCASH, BAPSA have secured 301, 29, 66 and 346 votes so far. As many as 86 candidates have cast their votes for NOTA category.

# 09:44 am: President Post: As the counting for 2717 votes has been finished, Left Unity leads for the top post of President with as many as 1075 votes. Talking about other major contesting parties, ABVP has bagged 545 votes while NSUI is having only 212 votes in their kitty till the time: Sources

# 09:40 am: After counting of 400 votes, Left Unity taking a lead on all the crucial posts of President, Vice President, Secretary, Joint Secretary.

Read | DUSU Elections 2018 Results Updates: ABVP bags three posts, NSUI one; Ankiv Baisoya is DUSU president

In early Saturday, the counting process was resumed after being suspended for over 12 hours on account of "forcible entry" and "attempts to snatch away ballot boxes" at the venue. The RSS-backed ABVP and the Left parties got engaged in a blame game as they accused each other of roughing up their members in the politically motivated campus.

While the ABVP accused the Left alliance of assaulting its members and endangering the culture of democracy, the Left levelled similar allegations, accusing the RSS-affiliated party of occupying the counting centre.

These rising tensions and violence resulted in the suspension of counting by the election authorities at 4 am which was later resumed around 6:30 pm to finish the counting process for the councillor posts and central panel posts of one of the schools.

The CRPF was deployed in the campus area after counting was halted following the ABVP's allegations that they were not informed about the process.

Read | JNUSU Polls: Purported ABVP posters promising ban on short dresses, non-veg food sparks rows

The JNU Elections have recorded a total voter turnout of 67.8 per cent this year.

For all the Latest Cities News, Delhi & NCR News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 16 Sep 2018, 08:47:08 AM