News Nation Logo

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri, BJP MLA From Badparur, Named Leader Of Opposition In Delhi Assembly

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri, A Four-time MLA, Has Been Elected From Badarpur Seat In The Recently Concluded Assembly Elections.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 24 Feb 2020, 11:25:57 AM
Ramvir Singh Bidhuri

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri with BJP president JP Nadda (Photo Credit: Twitter @RamvirBidhuri)

New Delhi:

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri, one of the eight MLAs from BJP, will be the next Leader of Opposition in Delhi assembly. Bidhuri, a four-time MLA, has been elected from Badarpur seat in the recently concluded assembly elections. Bidhuri's name was announced at the Delhi BJP office by Saroj Pandey, party's national general secretary and central observer, in presence of Delhi unit president Manoj Tiwari, said Delhi BJP media relations head Neelkant Bakshi. Rohini MLA Vijender Gupta proposed Bidhuri's name as Leader of Opposition. Gupta, who won the Assembly election from Rohini, was the LoP in last assembly. 

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won 62 seats while BJP managed to win 8 seats in the Delhi assembly elections. Besides Bidhuri and Gupta, Mohan Singh Bisht, Omprakash Sharma, Abhay Verma, Jitendra Mahajan, Anil Vajpayee and Ajay Mahawar have won the elections.

According to news agency IANS, Bidhuri was first elected to Delhi assembly in 1993 on a Janata Dal ticket. He then joined the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) in 2003 and was elected again. Bidhuri joined BJP in 2012 and reached the Assembly on a BJP ticket in 2013. However, he lost the election in 2015. This year Bidhuri won the Badarpur seat against AAP’s Ram Singh Netaji.

For all the Latest Cities News, Delhi & NCR News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Feb 2020, 10:06:18 AM