News Nation Logo

Mamata Banerjee Announces List Of Candidates For Rajya Sabha Polls, Nominates Arpita Ghosh And 3 Others

Announcing The List Of Candidates On Her Twitter Handle On International Women's Day, Party Chief Mamata Banerjee Pointed Out That Of The Four Candidates, Two - Ghosh And Mausam - Are Women.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 08 Mar 2020, 06:19:54 PM
Mamata Main 2

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee (Photo Credit: FIle Image)

New Delhi:

The Mamata Banerjee led Trinamool Congress on Sunday announced the names of four candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls. The names include, Trinamool national general secretary Subrata Bakshi, theatre personality Arpita Ghosh, former union minister Dinesh Trivedi and Mausam Noor

Announcing the list of candidates on her Twitter handle on International Women's day, party chief Mamata Banerjee pointed out that of the four candidates, two - Ghosh and Mausam - are women.

"I am glad to announce that @AITCofficial will be nominating Arpita Ghosh, Mausam Noor, Dinesh Trivedi & Subrata Bakshi to the Rajya Sabha. As a part of my constant endeavour towards woman empowerment, I am proud that half of our nominations are women #InternationalWomensDay.

All four are former Lok Sabha members. Except Bakshi, the other three had lost the Lok Sabha polls last year to BJP rivals.

Subrata Bakshi is a two-time MP and have won from South Kolkata in a by-poll in December, 2011, after Banerjee resigned from the Lok Sabha seat after becoming the chief minister. He was re-elected in 2014, but did not contest the polls last year.

For all the Latest Cities News, Kolkata News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 08 Mar 2020, 05:56:08 PM

Related Tags:

Mamata Banerjee TMC BJP