News Nation Logo


Vijay Kumar Dev appointed Delhi Chief Secretary after Anshu Prakash's transfer to telecom department

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Srishty Choudhury | Updated on: 23 Nov 2018, 04:55:54 PM
Vijay Kumar Dev (File photo)

New Delhi:

IAS officer and delhi Chief Electoral Officer Vijay Kumar Dev has been appointed as the new Delhi Chief Secretary. The order of his appointment has been issued by the Union Ministry of Home Affairs. A copy of the letter has been sent to the office of the Delhi Chief Minister, Arvind Kejriwal. His predecessor Anshu Prakash has been appointed as additional secretary in the Department of Telecommunications, under the government of India

An 1987-batch IAS officer from the AGMUT cadre (Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Mizoram and Union Territories), Vijay Kumar Dev, in his most recent appointments, served as the Deputy Election Commissioner in the Election Commission of India, Chandigarh, and as Additional Secretary to the Government of India.

Read More | Delhi Chief Secretary Anshu Prakash, who was allegedly assaulted by AAP leaders, transferred

His predecessor, Anshu Prakash, had allegedly been attacked by Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) legislators at a meeting held in Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's residence on February 19, in Kejriwal's presence. The incident had triggered a bitter power tussle between the Delhi government and its bureaucrats earlier this year.

Also Read | Delhi CM Kejriwal, Dy CM Sisodia, 11 AAP MLAs get bail in chief secretary assault case

Both Kejriwal and Sisodia are among the 13 people named in the 1,300-page the Delhi Police submitted in the case. The other 11 are all AAP MLAs. However,  Kejriwal, Sisodia and nine other AAP MLAs were granted bail in the case by a Delhi court in October. The next hearing in the case is slated for December 7, 2018.

For all the Latest Cities News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Nov 2018, 12:49:33 PM