News Nation Logo


Mizoram Elections: MNF announces candidates list for assembly polls

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Salka Pai | Updated on: 23 Oct 2018, 05:18:28 PM
Mizoram Elections: MNF announces candidates list for assembly polls

New Delhi:

Mizo National Front (MNF) on Monday announced the names of 39 candidates, of which 17 are first timers, for November 28 Mizoram Assembly polls, said an official.

The MNF party also declared that it would contest all the 40 seats for the ensuing election to the state legislature.

Candidate name for the Tuichawng assembly seat within the Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) area were withheld from the list, the official said.

Earlier, an NGO Coordination had appealed to all the political parties not to field candidates belonging to the Chakma community.

Also Read | China shuns India’s request to support listing of Masood Azhar as global terrorist

According to party sources, former Mizoram chief minister and MNF chief Zoramthanga will contest from Aizawl East-I assembly constituency against Zoram Peoples’ Movement (ZPM) spokesperson and a journalist turned politician K Sapdanga and Congress candidate K Vanlalrawna.

Senior vice president of MNF and former home minister in the Zoramthanga government, Tawnluia, will contest from Tuichang seat in Myanmar border Champhai district, they said.

Though the party candidates have veteran politician on the list, including party chief Zoramthanga himself, the average age of the candidates are 55, sources said.

Read More | #SwitchOnTheSunshine with Sonali Bendre's new and oh-so-adorable look, find out here

The youngest candidate in the MNF list is Robert Lalhmingsanga, who was born on October two, 1980 and will be in the field from West Tuipui while the eldest candidate K.  Sangthuama, the sitting legislator and former minister was born in 1940, said the sources.

Two former Congress legislators R Lalzirliana and Lalrinliana Sailo, who had resigned from the ruling party headed by chief minister Lal Thanhawla earlier, will contest from Tur-Tawi and Chalfilh constituencies in Aizawl district respectively, they said.

Meanwhile, as sources report, former Lok Sabha member and party treasurer Vanlalzawma, would try his luck again from Aizawl West-III seat, whereas Robert Hmingthansanga, an advocate has been fielded at West Tuipui seat in south Mizoram’s Lunglei district, the constituency where Chakmas are a majority.

Among the MNF candidates, four have doctorate degrees and two medical degree holders.

(With PTI inputs)

For all the Latest Cities News, North East News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Oct 2018, 05:16:36 PM