News Nation Logo


Nagpur Zilla Parishad Election Results: Congress Wins Big, BJP Loses In Nitin Gadkari's Village

BJP Suffered Defeat In Union Minister Nitin Gadkari’s Village As Congress Candidate Mahendra Dongre Won The Dhapewada Seat.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 08 Jan 2020, 08:36:43 PM
Nitin Gadkari is considered one of the biggest leaders in Nagpur

Nitin Gadkari is considered one of the biggest leaders in Nagpur (Photo Credit: ANI)

New Delhi:

Maharashtra Zila Parishad Election Results 2020: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) suffered a big loss in its traditional strong hold of Nagpur. According to the Nagpur Zila Parishad Election results announced on Wednesday, Congress has emerged as the biggest party with 31 seats out of 58. BJP is expected to get 15 while NCP is winning in 10 seats. BJP even suffered defeat in Union Minister Nitin Gadkari’s village in Nagpur. Congress candidate Mahendra Dongre (9,444 votes) won the Dhapewada seat in ZP election by defeating BJP nominee Maruti Somkuvar (5,501 votes). The BJP had been securing ZP's Dhapewada seat for the last three terms.

BJP had won 22 seats in the previous elections while Congress and NCP had won 19 and 7 seats, repectively.

In Palghar Zilla Parishad, results of 57 seats are available and Shiv Sena has emerged has biggest gainer with 18 seats. The BJP has got 10 seats, NCP 15 and the Congress just one.

The results are coming in for Zilla Parishad election in Palghar, Nagpur, Dhule, Nandurbar, Akola and Washim. Voting was on these seats were held on Tuesday. The local body polls is being seen a big test for the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVP) government.

For all the Latest Cities News, Others News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 08 Jan 2020, 08:36:43 PM

Related Tags:

Maharashtra Nagpur