News Nation Logo

Bihar: Madan Mohan Jha appointed as new state Congress president

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Guihiamliu Riamei | Updated on: 18 Sep 2018, 06:20:02 PM
Bihar: Madan Mohan Jha appointed as new state Congress president (Photo: Twitter)

New Delhi:

With an eye on the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, senior leader Madan Mohan Jha was on Tuesday appointed as the new President of the Congress in Bihar. Jha, a member of Bihar Legislative Council, is the first Brahmin Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee (BPCC) president after former CM Jagannath Mishra.

The post of BPCC president has been laying vacant for close to a year after the removal of Ashok Kumar Choudhary, who is now with Nitish Kumar's JD(U).

Also Read | Rahul Gandhi in Kurnool LIVE: PM Modi's silence on Rewari gang rape unacceptable, says Congress chief

According to a press release issued by the All India Congress Committee (AICC), party General Secretary Ashok Gehlot has made Akhilesh Prasad Singh as the new chairman of the Campaign Committee for 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

Kaukab Quadri will continue as the state Working President while Saameer Kumar Singh and Shyam Sunder have also been appointed Working Presidents, according to the release.

The appointments were made by Congress President Rahul Gandhi.

Also Read | Is Navjot Singh Sidhu Pakistan's agent? Harsimrat Kaur targets Punjab minister over Kartarpur corridor issue

The BPPC also announced a 23-member working committee which includes state women wing president Amita Bhushan and vocal party MLC Prem Chand Mishra

Besides, a 19-member advisory commitee has been constituted comprising of party veterans Meira Kumar, Sadanand Singh, Nikhil Kumar, KK Tiwari, Chandan Bagchi, Ranjita Ranjan and Shakil Ahmed among others.



For all the Latest Cities News, Patna News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 18 Sep 2018, 05:29:45 PM