News Nation Logo

Celebrations begin after BJP wins Haryana’s Jind bypoll, Congress wishes luck to Khattar

The BJP Wrested The Seat From The Main Opposition INLD, Which Was Decimated In The By-election.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 31 Jan 2019, 05:55:47 PM
BJP wins Jind bypoll, Congress ends up at third position (File image)

BJP wins Jind bypoll, Congress ends up at third position (File image)

New Delhi:

The ruling BJP won the high-stakes Jind bypoll in Haryana today with party candidate Krishan Middha defeating his nearest rival, Digvijay Singh Chautala of JJP, by over 12,000 votes. The BJP wrested the seat from the main opposition INLD, which was decimated in the by-election. Middha won by a margin of 12,935 votes, Jind Deputy Commissioner-cum-Returning Officer Amit Khatri said. JJP was floated last month by Hisar MP Dushyant Chautala after a split in the INLD following a family feud. The Congress, which had fielded its senior leader Randeep Singh Surjewala, an MLA from Kaithal, ended up at the third spot. Middha (48) is a BAMS doctor, whose father's death necessitated the bypoll.

After the results came out, Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to twitter and thanked the people of Haryana. “I thank the people of Jind for blessing @BJP4Haryana. This is a seat where the Party has never won before. Glad to see the development agenda of BJP finding support among all sections of society. I congratulate the Haryana BJP and CM @mlkhattar for assiduously serving the people,” he tweeted.

BJP president Amit Shah also congratulated the party workers of Haryana and termed the bypoll victory as the win of development and good governance.

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar also thanked the people of Haryana and said that the win replicates the growing popularity of the party in the state.

Krishan Middha, who won the Jind bypoll said, “I would like to thank everyone who supported the party and me. It's their victory. There were big leaders in the contest as well, but we have defeated them too. We will follow the schemes launched by PM and take them forward.”

Jannayak Janta Party’s (JJP) Digvijay Chautala said, “I would like to congratulate BJP for their victory. There were several faults detected in EVMs, we will take up that issue in the internal party meeting first and then it will be briefed before media.”

Congress National spokesperson and senior leader Randeep Surjewala said, “I hope Manohar Lal Khattar and Krishna Middha ji will fulfil the dreams of the people of Jind. I was given a responsibility by the party which I fulfilled to the best of my abilities, I congratulate Krishna Middha ji.”

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 31 Jan 2019, 05:26:54 PM