News Nation Logo

Lok Sabha Polls: Revanth Reddy, Gaurav Gogoi among 18 names in Congress' third list of candidates

The Congress On Friday Released Its Third List Of Candidates For The Upcoming Lok Sabha Elections.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Abhinav Gupta | Updated on: 16 Mar 2019, 12:19:57 AM
Congress releases third list of candidates, Revanth Reddy, Gaurav Gogoi among 18 names

Congress releases third list of candidates, Revanth Reddy, Gaurav Gogoi among 18 names

New Delhi:

The Congress on Friday released the third list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The list contains names of 18 candidates for several northeastern states, along with Telangana and Uttar Pradesh. 

Prominent among the 18 names include Telangana Congress working president Revanth Reddy, former Assam chief minister Tarun Gogoi's son Gaurav Gogoi, Congress women's wing chief Sushmita Dev and former Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma. 

Reddy will be contesting from Telangana's Malkajgiri Lok Sabha seat while Sangma has been pitted from Meghalaya's Tura seat.

Depsite the fact that Revanth was defeated by TRS candidate Patnam Narender Reddy from Kogangal in the December 2018 Assembly elections in Telangana, the party leadership has reposed faith in him for the Lok Sabha elections

Sushmita Dev has been chosen for the Silchar Lok Sabha seat while Gaurav Gogoi will be contesting from Kaliabor seat. 

The party has finalised Ramesh Rathod from Adilabad, former union minister Balram Naik from Mahabubabad, ex-minister A Chandrashekhar from Peddapalle, former MP Ponnam Prabhakar from Karimnagar, Congress IT cell chief Madan Mohan from Zahirabad and Gail Anil Kumar from Medak.

The Congress released its first list of 15 candidates on March 7, fielding UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi from Raebareli and party president Rahul Gandhi from Amethi.

The list, however, did not feature Priyanka Gandhi Vadra's name who recently made her political debut that was in the waiting for several years.

On March 13, the party released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, fielding party's Uttar Pradesh unit chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, former Union minister Sriprakash Jaiswal from Kanpur, ex-Home minister Sushil Kumar Shinde from Solapur and Priya Dutt from Mumbai North-Central. 

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 15 Mar 2019, 11:50:07 PM