News Nation Logo


Amid EVM snags, Madhya Pradesh records 67% polling in 4th Phase of Lok Sabha polls

In The Bypoll To The Chhindwara Assembly Segment, From Where Kamal Nath's Son Is Contesting, Voter Turnout Stood At 65.15 Per Cent.

PTI | Updated on: 29 Apr 2019, 10:08:19 PM
Lok Sabha elections 2019 (Photo Source: PTI)


A little over 67 per cent voter turnout was recorded across the six Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh that went to the polls Monday amid EVM glitches in some areas, an official said. A total of 1.05 crore people were eligible to vote for the six seats, of which 67.09 per cent exercised their franchise, he said.

The Chhindwara Lok Sabha constituency, where Chief Minister Kamal Nath's son, Nakul, is in the fray, topped in turnout at 72.95 per cent followed by Naxal-hit Balaghat (72.29 per cent), Shahdol (68.88 per cent), Mandla (68.40 per cent), Jabalpur (64.05 per cent) and Sidhi (57.32 per cent).

In the bypoll to the Chhindwara assembly segment, from where Nath is contesting, voter turnout stood at 65.15 per cent.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) V L Kantha Rao said during a mock poll (which takes place ahead of polling), electronic voting machines (EVMs) were replaced at 207 booths due to some glitches. However, the polling started on time after the machines were replaced, he added.

EVMs were also replaced at 106 polling booths due to malfunctioning after the voting began, Rao said. At two places under the Sidhi constituency, locals threatened to boycott polling, but officials persuaded them to vote, he said to a question.

Asked about BJP candidate from Sidhi, Riti Pathak, reportedly receiving a threat, Rao said, "The district collector has been asked to take action". No further details about the incident were available immediately, officials said.

In Naxal-affected Baiher, Lanjhi and Paraswada Assembly segments under the Balaghat parliamentary seat, polling was held from 7 am to 4 pm. Elsewhere, the voting time was from 7 am to 6 pm. Madhya Pradesh has 29 Lok Sabha seats and the remaining ones will vote on May 6, 12 and 19.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 29 Apr 2019, 10:06:45 PM