News Nation Logo

As Babul Supriyo maintains steady lead in Asansol, Moon Moon Sen says - 'don't know why we are losing'

Supriyo, Who Is The Sitting MP In The Asansol Parliamentary Constituency, Had In 2014 Defeated A Formidable Trinamool Congress Oponent To Bag The Seat.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 05:23:20 PM
Trinamool Congress candidate Moon Moon Sen (File Photo)

New Delhi:

With the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Babul Supriyo maintaining a steady lead over Trinamool Congress' Moon Moon Sen by more than 65,000 votes from the Asansol Lok Sabha seat, the latter reacted strongly to the latest trend of the general election results 2019. As per the latest trend, the BJP is currently ahead in 16 Lok Sabha seats, while the Trinamool Congress managed lead in 24.

While the BJP is busy celebrating their first-ever double-digit performance in the Trinamool Congress bastion, Moon Moon Sen told media that her party should get at least 35-40 seats in the state and that she did not know why they were trailing. "I don't know why we are losing. You (journalist) tell me why are we losing?" Sen asked, refusing to elaborate further.

In another video, which is going viral on social media, Sen, with a pale face, could be seen upset and said that she is very unhappy as the counting is not going well. "Ï am feeling very sad...the counting is not going well," she told reporters in Hindi.

"WATCH TMC Candidate from Asansol, Moon Moon Sen reacts on present trends,she is trailing BJP candidate Babul Supriyo by over 65,000 votes," the news agency ANI reported.

Supriyo, who is the sitting MP in the Asansol parliamentary constituency, had in 2014 defeated a formidable Trinamool Congress oponent to bag the seat. It was the first time that Supriyo was contesting a Lok Sabha poll in West Bengal.

Earlier, Sen on a lighter note, Trinamool Congress' Asansol candidate Moon Moon Sen found herself wading in troubled waters when she was asked about the violence in the constituency on voting day. "They gave me my bed tea very late so I woke up very late. What can I say? I really don't know," the actor-politician told the media.

In the outgoing 16th Lok Sabha, the TMC has 34 seats in West Bengal, whereas the BJP has only two. The Congress and the CPI (M)-led Left Front have four and two seats respectively.

The final results for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal are expected to be declared by late evening today.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 05:23:20 PM