News Nation Logo

Assam Exit Poll 2019: BJP to get 9-11 seats with 43 per cent vote share

In Term Of Vote Share, BJP To Get 43 Per Cent Of The Vote Share This Time And Congress To Get 36 Per Cent Of The Vote Share.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 20 May 2019, 11:13:57 AM

New Delhi:

News Nation Exit Poll on Sunday predicted that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will decimate the Congress in Assam by winning around 9-11 Lok Sabha seats. The grand old party is expected to win just 2-4 seats out of total 14 seats. 

In term of vote share, BJP to get 43 per cent of the vote share this time and Congress to get 36 per cent of the vote share. In 2014, the BJP received 55,07,152 votes with a vote share of 36.86 per cent, while the Congress was able to garner 44,67,295 votes in the state with a vote share of 29.90 per cent. 

In terms of seats in 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, the BJP had won 7 and both the Congress and the Badruddin Ajmal-led All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) won 3 each. The Independent candidate was successful from Kokrajhar Lok Sabha seat. 

The AIUDF got 22,37,612 votes with 14.98 per cent of the vote share. The AGP that ruled the state twice between 1985 to 1990 and 1996 to 2001 got 5,77,730 votes with a dismal vote share of 3.87 per cent and drew a blank. 

The Sarbananda Sonowal-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has been ruling the state since 2016. This is the first BJP government in the state. The Congress party is on a backfoot in the state after Tarun Gogoi's stint as the state's chief minister from 2001 to 2016. 

However, the grand old party expected to revive its fortunes after the Asom Gana Parishad's (AGP) withdrew support from the BJP government over the issue of Citizenship Amendment Bill. 

Meanwhile, the BJP defeated the Congress and the AIUDF in panchayat polls concluded earlier this year. The AGP, which was the part of the ruling coalition that time, contested the elections separately and lost. According to the Assam State Election Commission, the ruling party had won 9,025 Gram Panchayat Member (GPM) seats out of 21,990 seats. Apart from that, the BJP had won 991 Gram Panchayat President seats, 1,020 Anchalik Panchayat Member seats, and 212 Zila Parishad Member seats. The Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) had won 1,676 GPM seats, 137 Gram Panchayat President seats, 117 Anchalik Panchayat Member seats and 19 Zila Parishad Member seats. 

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 20 May 2019, 11:13:57 AM