News Nation Logo

Assam Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: BJP set to surpass its 2014 tally, takes lead in 9 seats

In The 2014 Election, The BJP Won An Unprecedented Seven Seats Here, Thus Forming The Government In The State For The Very First Time.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 24 May 2019, 12:02:58 AM

New Delhi:

The fate of 145 candidates who are contesting from the 14 parliamentary constituencies in Assam will be decided on Thursday, May 23 as the counting of votes has already taken up at 8 am. Assam, which is one of the most populous northeast states, recorded a total voter turnout of 81.53 per cent. It was once a stronghold of Congress, however, in the 2014 election, the BJP won an unprecedented seven seats in the state, thus forming the government for the very first time. Congress and All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) had won three seats each and one seat had gone to Others.

Here are the Highlights:

11:20 pm: The counting for remaining 12 Lok Sabha seats is underway and the result is expected to be decalared by early Friday morning.

11:13 pm: Congress candidate Sushanta Borgohain lost the Jorhat Lok Sabha seat against BJP's Topon Kumar Gogoi.

11:00 pm: BJP's Rameswar Teli defeated Congress' Paban Singh Ghatowar to bag the Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat.

06:44 pm: The Congress is set to retain the Kaliabor seat and is marching ahead in Nowgong, earlier held by BJP, and Barpeta, held by AIUDF. The AIUDF is likely to retain one of the three seats it had won in the last polls.

06:42 pm: The BJP is looking to surpass its 2014 tally in Assam, with wins in 10 seats, which are Dibrugarh, Lakhimpur, Jorhat, Tezpur, Mangaldoi, Gauhati and wrest Silchar and Autonomous District from Congress, along with Karimganj (SC) from AIUDF.

03:24 pm: The BJP is surging ahead in Assam by leading in eight seats, while its alliance partner AGP is ahead in one seat, out of the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. The opposition Congress and the AIUDF are leading in two seats each and a sitting independent candidate in one seat, according to the latest trends.

01:52 pm: Former Assam chief minister Tarun Gogoi's son and Congress candidate Gaurav Gogoi is ahead in Kaliabor Lok Sabha seat.

01:50 pm: Congress' Bobbeeta Sharma is leading from Assam's Gauhati Lok Sabha seat.

11:37 am: Congress' Sushmita Dev is trailing from Assam's Silchar Lok Sabha seat.

11:16 am: AIUDF's Badruddin Ajmal is leading from the Dhubri Lok Sabha seat after three hours of counting in Assam.

11:00 am: In early trend, BJP takes lead in 9 seats, while the Congress and Others are ahead in three and two seats each.

08:42 am: BJP is leading in eight Lok Sabha seats in Assam, Congress ahead in 3 and Others in two.

08:26 am: BJP leading in three Lok Sabha seats in Assam.

08:00 am: Counting begins for 14 parliamentary constituencies at 8 am.

07:33 am: Counting of votes for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 to begin at 8 am ; Visuals from outside a counting centre in Gauhati.

07:32 am: The seats which will be keenly watched in Assam, are - Kaliabor, Dibrugarh, Silchar, Mangaldoi, Dhubri and Gauhati.

07:30 am: Some of the key contestants in the northeastern state, include former Assam chief minister Tarun Gogoi's son Gaurav Gogoi, Congress leader and party stalwart Santosh Mohan Dev's daughter Sushmita Dev, BJP Gauhati candidate Queen Ojha and his Congress rival Bobbeeta Sharma.

07:17 am: Apart from the Citizenship Amendment Bill, another major issue, which is going to dominate the 2019 Lok Sabha polls in Assam - is the National Register of Citizens of India (NRC) drive undertaken by the BJP-led Centre government to determine the citizens of Assam.

07:10 am: Assam, which became the BJP's gateway to North East, went to polls in the aftermath of the state-wide protests against the Citizenship Amendment Bill.

06:58 am: Other key players in the state include - the AIUDF led by perfume baron Badruddin Ajmal and the AGP, which are in alliance with the BJP.

06:53 am: While the BJP came to power following the 2016 Assembly elections in Assam, the Congress ruled the state for 15 long years under the chief ministership of Tarun Gogoi.

06:47 am: Voting in the remaining seats - Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta, Gauhati - was held on April 23 in the third phase.

06:43 am: Five seats, which went to poll on April, are Karimganj, Silchar, autonomous district, Mangaldoi and Nawgong.

06:41 am: Election in Tezpur, Kalibor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seats were held on April 11 in the first phase.

06:38 am: 2019 Lok Sabha seats to the 14 parliamentary constituencies in Assam took place in three phases on April 11, April 18 and April 23.

06:35 am: The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and the Independent witnessed win in three and one parliamentary constituency respectively.

06:34 am: In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), in its best-ever performance, won seven seats while the Congress ended by bagging just three.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 May 2019, 12:02:58 AM