News Nation Logo


BJP, Congress key contenders in second phase of LS polls in Assam

In Silchar, BJP’s Rajdeep Roy Is Set To Pose A Tough Challenge To Sitting Congress MP Sushmita Dev

PTI | Updated on: 17 Apr 2019, 03:00:24 PM
The other three constituencies that will go to polls on April 18 are Autonomous District (ST), Mangaldai and Nowgong


Altogether 60 candidates have filed papers for five Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam for the second phase of Lok Sabha polls in the state, with the BJP and the Congress emerging as the major contenders in at least four of the seats. Tuesday was the last date for the filing of nomination for the second phase of election, scheduled on April 18.

Among the five seats, Karimganj (SC) registered maximum number of nominees at 19, followed by Silchar with 14 candidates, an election office spokesperson said.

The other three constituencies that will go to polls on April 18 are Autonomous District (ST), Mangaldai and Nowgong.

In Karimganj (SC) parliamentary constituency, the major players are sitting MP of the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), Radheshyam Biswas, BJP’s Kripanath Malla and Congress candidate Swarup Das, poll analysts said.

In Silchar, BJP’s Rajdeep Roy is set to pose a tough challenge to sitting Congress MP Sushmita Dev, they said.

The candidates of the two national parties are prime contenders for Mangaldoi, Autonomous (ST) District and Nowgong seats too.

While Congress MP Bhubaneswar Kalita will lock horns with BJP’s Dilip Saikia at Mangaldoi, the grand old party’s minister, Pradyut Bordoloi, will put up a tough fight against Rupak Sarma of the saffron party, the analysts added.

In the Autonomous (ST) District, six candidates have filed their nominations, with the prominent ones being sitting Congress MP Biren Singh Engti and BJP nominee Horen Singh Bey.

The scrutiny of papers will be held on March 27 and the last date for withdrawal of nomination is March 29.

A total 6836,496 electorates, comprising 3521,244 males and 3315,071 females and 181 members of the third gender, will exercise their franchise in 8,992 polling stations of the state in the second phase.

For the first phase, scheduled to held on April 11, 45 candidates have filed their nomination papers for another five parliamentary constituencies   Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur.

The filing of nominations for the remaining four constituencies of Dhubri, Barpeta, Kokrajhar (ST) and Gauhati will commence on March 28.

Elections to 14 lok sabha constituencies in Assam will be held in three phases April 11, 18 and 23.

In 2014, the BJP had won seven Lok Sabha seats in the state, followed by the Congress and the AIUDF with three seats each, and an independent candidate won one seat. 

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Apr 2019, 02:46:03 PM