News Nation Logo


Congress fields Acharya Pramod Krishnam to take on Rajnath Singh from Lucknow

The Party Also Fielded Vinay Kumar Pandey From Kaiserganj (UP) And Pankaj Sanghvi From Indore In Madhya Pradesh.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 16 Apr 2019, 10:38:03 PM
Acharya Pramod Krishnam

New Delhi:

The Congress on Tuesday released list of three names for the Lok Sabha elections, fielding Acharya Pramod Krishnam from Lucknow to take on Home Minister Rajnath Singh. The party also fielded Vinay Kumar Pandey from Kaiserganj (UP) and Pankaj Sanghvi from Indore in Madhya Pradesh.

Bollywood actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha's wife Poonam Sinha, who joined the Samajwadi Party on Tuesday, will also contest against Singh from the Lucknow seat.

On Tuesday Singh filed his nomination papers for the Lucknow Lok Sabha seat after holding a roadshow in the Uttar Pradesh capital, where BJP supporters turned up in large numbers and showered flower petals on him.

Accompanied by Uttar Pradesh BJP chief Mahendra Nath Pandey, Deputy Chief Minister Dinesh Sharma and former Union minister Kalraj Mishra, Singh submitted his election affidavit to Lucknow District Magistrate Kaushal Raj Sharma.

Earlier in the day, Singh took out a roadshow which passed through Hazratganj, one of the arterial roads in the capital city, where BJP workers turned up to show their support to the leader.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 16 Apr 2019, 08:19:25 PM