News Nation Logo


Congress releases second list of candidates for Lok Sabha polls, fields Raj Babbar, Priya Dutt, Phule

Priya Dutt Has Been Given The Ticket From Mumbai North Central, While Milind Deora Will Contest From Mumbai South Seat.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 14 Mar 2019, 01:03:56 PM
Congress releases second list of candidates for Lok Sabha Elections, fields Raj Babbar, Priya Dutt, Savitri Phule

New Delhi:

The Congress on Wednesday released the second list of 21 candidates, including 16 from Uttar Pradesh and five from Maharashtra, for the Lok Sabha elections 2019. Senior party leader Raj Babbar will contest from Moradabad, while Sushil Kumar Shinde returned to fight from Sholapur seat. Former Congress MP Priya Dutt has been given the ticket from Mumbai North Central, while Milind Deora will contest from Mumbai South seat. 

Dutt had earlier written to Congress president Rahul Gandhi against contesting elections. “I am in the race. I am fighting this election. I am fighting for the future of my children. It is a fight to save our democracy,” ANI quoted her as saying earlier in the day.

Babbar had won against Dimple Yadav, the wife of Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav in the by-election to the Firozabad seat in 2009. But in the 2014 general elections, he lost to VK Singh from Ghaziabad. 

The Congress party had declared its first list on March 7 in which it had announced that UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi will contest from Raebareli and party president Rahul Gandhi will fight the polls from Amethi. Former Union ministers Salman Khurshid, Jitin Prasad and RPN Singh were also named in the first list from their traditional seats of Farrukhabad, Dhaurahra and Kushi Nagar, respectively.

In UP, the Congress has fielded several former MPs in the list, who can potentially damage the prospects of the SP-BSP alliance in the state. Of the 16 candidates from UP, six are former MPs. Zafar Ali Naqvi will contest from Kheri, Kaisar Jahan from Sitapur and Ratna Singh from Pratapgarh. The Congress has also named former BJP MP Savitri Bai Phule from the reserved seat of Bahraich and former Samajwadi Party leader Rakesh Sachan from Fatehpur. Both Phule and Sachan had joined the Congress earlier this month. Lalitesh Pati Tripathi, a young leader seen as close to Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, is contesting from Mirzapur.

Here's the complete list of Congress's 21 candidates:


  • Nana Patole from Nagpur
  • Dr Namdev Dallujui Usendi from Gadchiroli-Chimur (ST)
  • Priya Dutt from Mumbai North-Central
  • Milind Deora from Mumbai South
  • Sushil Kumar Shinde from Solapur 
Uttar Pradesh: 
  • Omwati Devi Jatav from Nagina (SC)
  • Raj Babbar from Moradabad
  • Zafar Ali Naqvi from Kheri 
  • Kaisar Jahan from Sitapur
  • Manjari Rahi from Misrikh (SC)
  • Ramashankar Bhargava from Mohanlalganj (SC)
  • Dr Sanjay Singh from Sultanpur
  • Ratna Singh from Pratapgarh
  • Sriprakash Jaiswal from Kanpur
  • Rakesh Sachan from Fatehpur
  • Savitri Phule from Bahraich (SC)
  • Parvez Khan from Sant Kabir Nagar
  • Kush Saurabh from Bansgaon (SC)
  • Pankaj Mohan Sonkar from Lalganj (SC)
  • Lalitesh Pati Tripathi from Mirzapur
  • Bhagwati Prasad Choudhary from Robertsganj (SC)


For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 13 Mar 2019, 09:10:19 PM