News Nation Logo

Left Front announces second list for Bengal, leaves Congress party’s 4 winning seats

Left Front Chairman Biman Bose Announced The Name Of The Candidates At A Press Conference In Kolkata.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 19 Mar 2019, 09:18:03 PM
Left Front announces second list for Bengal, leaves Congress party’s 4 winning seats

New Delhi:

The Left Front has announced its second list of 13 candidates on Tuesday, leaving four winning seats -- Malda Uttar, Malda Dakshin, Jangipur and Berhampore -- for the Congress. The Congress had won these seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The announcement came a day after the Congress made it clear that it will not be going for an alliance in West Bengal. In the first list, the Left had announced 25 candidates. 

Left Front chairman Biman Bose announced the name of the candidates at a press conference in Kolkata. Interestingly, the Congress in a list announced on Monday evening has fielded candidates from two seats where Left won last time.

According to Trinamool Congress sources, the breakdown augurs well for the party, which would be in a better position to bag the nearly 30 per cent minority votes in the state in the absence of another credible "secular force" in the state.

The CPI(M)-Congress seat-sharing talks failed after the latter accused the Left of insulting it by unilaterally announcing 25 candidates in the state, which has 42 Lok Sabha seats.

The cross currrents of the failure to clinch the Opposition alliance will be felt directly in 15 seats spread across north and south Bengal, a TMC leader said.

The development has brought cheer to the BJP camp, which has emerged as the main challenger of the TMC in the past few years. The party will be in a better position to find favour with a sizeable portion of the refugee voters in the border districts following its efforts to bring in the citizenship bill.

Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M) candidates:
West Bengal:
1. Bhagirath Roy: Jalpaiguri
2. Md Salim: Raiganj
3. Badruddaza Khan: Murshidabad
4. Rama Biswas: Ranaghat
5. Alokesh Das: Bangaon
6. Nepaldeb Bhattacharya: Dum Dum
7. Dr Fuad Halim: Diamond Harbour
8. Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya: Jadavpur
9. Dr Nandini Mukherjee: Kolkata Dakshin
10. Dr Maksuda Khatun: Uluberia
11. Pradip Saha: Hooghly
12. Sakti Mohan Malik: Arambag
13. Sunil Khan: Bishnupur
14. Iswar Chandra Das: Bardhaman Purba
15. Abhas Roy Choudhury: Bardhaman Durgapur
16. Santanu Jha: Krishnanagar
17. Gargi Chatterjee: Barrackpur
18. Sarat Halder: Mathurapur
19. Kaninika Bose Ghosh: Kolkata Uttar
20. Sumitra Adhikary: Howrah
21. Ibrahim Ali: Tamluk
22. Rezaul Karim: Birbhum
23. Ram Chandra Dome: Bolpur
24. Gourganga Chatterjee: Asansol
25. Amiya Patra: Bankura
26. Paritosh Pattanayak: Kanthi
27. Saman Pathak: Darjeeling
28. Deblina Hembram: Jhargram
29. Tirthankar Roy: Sreerampur
Communist Party of India (CPI) candidates:
West Bengal:
1. Pallab Sengupta: Basirhat
2. Tapan Ganguly: Ghatal
3. Biplab Bhatta: Medinipur
All India Forward Bloc (AIFB) candidates:
West Bengal:
1. Bir Singh Mahato: Purulia
2. Haripada Biswas: Barasat
3. Gobinda Roy: Coochbehar

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 19 Mar 2019, 05:18:28 PM