News Nation Logo


Congress releases list of 5 candidates for Haryana Lok Sabha polls, fields Bhupinder Hooda from Sonipat

Bhavya Bishnoi, Son Of Former MP Kuldeep Bishnoi, Will Fight From Hisar.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 21 Apr 2019, 11:20:15 PM
Bhupinder Singh Hooda will contest from Sonipat. (File Photo: PTI)

New Delhi:

The Congress party on Sunday released a list of five candidates for Lok Sabha Elections in Haryana and has fielded former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda from Sonipat parliamentary seat.  

Others in the list are: Nirmal Singh from Kurukshetra, Bhavya Bishnoi from Hisar, Kuldeep Sharma from Karnal, and Avtar Singh Bhadana (in place of Lalit Nagar) from Faridabad. 

With these names, the Congress has so far declared candidates for 412 Lok Sabha seats.

The latest list of candidates was announced by party's General Secretary in charge Central Election Committee, Mukul Wasnik. The Congress has replaced its Faridabad candidate in this list. Earlier, the grand old party had fielded Lalit Nagar from Faridabad seat. 

All 10 Lok Sabha seats of Haryana go to polls in the sixth phase on May 12. Out of the 10 Lok Sabha seats, the Congress had won only the Rohtak seat in 2014.

The filing of nominations for the Lok Sabha seats began on April 16 and will end on April 23. The ruling BJP has already announced its candidates for the ten seats, so has the the Jannayak Janata Party-AAP alliance. 

The JJP-AAP announced its candidates for all ten seats after its talks with the Congress for forging a tie-up did not fructify.

Meanwhile, Delhi Congress chief Sheila Dikshit said the names of candidates for the seven Lok Sabha seats in the national capital will be announced in a couple of days.

"The party will announce the candidates tomorrow or day after," Dikshit said.

When asked about her fighting the polls from Chandni Chowk, she said, "I have also heard about it. Let the party decide."

According to sources, former Delhi Congress president Arvinder Singh Lovely is expected to contest from East Delhi seat, Ajay Maken from New Delhi, wrestler Sushil Kumar from West Delhi, Ramesh Kumar from South Delhi and J P Agrawal from North East Delhi.

On West Delhi seat, the party was trying to field a prominent Purvanchali celebrity, but the plan did not materialise. A former MP from the seat, Mahabal Mishra, is front-runner as party candidate on the seat due to his Purvanchali roots, sources claimed.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Apr 2019, 09:36:29 PM