News Nation Logo


Congress releases 6th list of 9 candidates for Lok Sabha polls; 2 from Kerala, 7 from Maharashtra

The Congress Has Announced The Names Of 146 Candidates So Far.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 22 Mar 2019, 07:21:05 PM
Congress releases 6th list of 9 candidates for Lok Sabha polls; 2 from Kerala, 7 from Maharashtra

New Delhi:

The Congress on Tuesday night released its sixth list of nine candidates, including two from Kerala and seven from Maharashtra, for the Lok Sabha elections 2019. The party has announced the name of Shanimol Usman as its candidate from Alappuzha Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala, where KC Venugopal is the sitting MP. The Congress has announced the names of 146 candidates so far.

Here's the full list of nine candidates  

  • Kunal Rohidas Patil -- Dhule (Maharashtra)
  • Adv. Charulata Khajasingh Tokas -- Wardha (Maharashtra)
  • Manikrao G. Thakare -- Yavatmal-Washim (Maharashtra)
  • Eknath Gaiward -- Mumbai South-Central (Maharashtra)
  • Bhausaheb Kamble -- Shirdi-SC (Maharashtra)
  • Navinchandra Bandivadekar -- Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg (Maharashtra)
  • Shanimol Usman -- Alappuzha (Kerala)
  • Adoor Prakash -- Attingal (Kerala)
  • KC Padavi -- Nandurbar-ST (Maharashtra)

The Congress party on Monday night released its fifth list of 56 candidates, including 22 from Andhra Pradesh and 11 from West Bengal. The list also included eight candidates from Telangana, six from Odisha and five from Assam, besides three remaining seats from Uttar Pradesh. On Saturday, the Congress had called off alliance talks with the Left parties.

The Congress has fielded former president Pranab Mukherjee's son Abhijit Mukherjee from Jangipur Lok Sabha seat, former PCC chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury from Behrampur and former minister Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi's wife Deepa Dasmunshi from Raiganj. The party also fielded former Union minister M M Pallam Raju from Kakinada constituency and party's former Rajya Sabha member JD Seelam from Bapatla reserved seat.

The party also fielded its Rajya Sabha member Bhubaneswar Kalita from Mangaldoi in Assam and former Union minister Bhakt Charan Das from Kalahandi in Odisha.  The Congress also fielded its state party chief Uttam Kumar Reddy from Nalgonda in Telangana. The list was declared after a meeting of the Congress Central Election Committee chaired by party chief Rahul Gandhi.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 19 Mar 2019, 11:35:02 PM