News Nation Logo


Congress releases 10th list of candidates for Lok Sabha polls, fields Karti Chidambaram from Sivaganga

The Others Whose Names Have Been Cleared By The Party's Central Election Committee Include Mohammed Javed From Kishanganj And Uday Singh Alias Pappu Singh From Purnia In Bihar.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 24 Mar 2019, 10:21:08 PM

New Delhi:

The Congress released its tenth list of 10 candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections on Sunday. The list contains four candidates from Maharashtra, three from Bihar and one each in Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Jammu and Kashmir.

One of the prominent names in the list is Karti Chidambaram, son of former union minister and senior party leader P Chidambaram. The grand old party has fielded him from Shivganga in Tamil Nadu, from where he unsuccessfully fought in the 2014 general election. He is facing trial in corruption cases, including the INX media money laundering case.

"I firmly believe the strength of the party and the alliance will help me win the Sivaganga seat. This is the second time I am contesting elections," Karti said while commenting on the development.

Another heavyweight in the list is former NCP leader Tariq Anwar. The Congress has given him the ticket from Katihar in Bihar and senior leader BK Hariprasad from Bangalore South Lok Sabha seat.  

Anwar had quit the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) in September 2018. He had reportedly resigned from the party in protest against party president Sharad Pawar's statement defending Prime Minister Modi in the Rafael deal.

Anwar, who was a Lok Sabha MP from Katihar in Bihar, was the general secretary of the NCP and a prominent Muslim leader of the party in the state.

The others whose names have been cleared by the party's central election committee include Mohammed Javed from Kishanganj and Uday Singh alias Pappu Singh from Purnia in Bihar and Haji Farooq Mir from Baramulla in Jammu and Kashmir.

Besides, the party has fielded Hidayat Patel from Akola, Kishor Uttamrao Gajbhiye from Ramtek-SC and Subhash Wankhede from Hingoli in Maharashtra. The Congress replaced its candidate from Chandrapur in Maharashtra and fielded Suresh Dhanorkar, in place of Vinayak Bangade.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Mar 2019, 05:30:11 PM