News Nation Logo

Delhi Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 highlights: BJP set for clean sweep, Gautam Gambhir get unassailable lead

The BJP Already Went Into Celebratory Mode With Jubilant Supporters Of The Saffron Party Starting To Burst Crackers And Shouting Slogans At Various Counting Centres Since Afternoon

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 09:22:36 PM

New Delhi:

Counting of votes begins. Delhi has been the seat of power for over 100 years. The political pundits believe the party that wins Delhi rules India and it is not just a figure of speech! A cursory glance at the last 20 years of poll results show if Uttar Pradesh sends the bulk of lawmakers, Delhi is the key to Parliament. The campaign which got off to a slow start as alliance talks between the AAP and Congress lingered on till the last days of nomination, gained momentum over the last fortnight with senior leaders drawing huge crowds at mega rallies and road shows in the national capital.The National Capital voted in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on May 12. 56.11% turnout was recorded in till 5 pm compared to the final turnout of 65.1% in 2014 in the National Capital.In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP registered a thumping victory in Delhi by winning all seven seats of the national capital. Almost all exit polls have predicted a clean sweep for the BJP.

Here are highlights from Delhi:  

Chandni Chowk puzzle

Chandni Chowk was the only seat where BJP candidate's margin was less than a lakh at 64,659 votes. 

Lekhi heading for another return

Incumbent MP from New Delhi Meenakshi Lekhi was also ahead of Congress' Ajay Maken by a margin of over 1.98 lakh votes.

Gautam Gambhir's brilliant debute!

Cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir, who is making his electoral debut from East Delhi constituency, was leading by a margin over 2.38 lakh votes. 

Victory song for Hans Raj Hans

In North West Delhi, saffron party's Hans Raj Hans was ahead of AAP's Gagan Singh by 11,070 votes, they said.

Raghav Chadha trails

Sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri was leading against his AAP rival Raghav Chadha by 11,600 votes in the South Delhi Lok Sabha seat, officials said.

Saffron surge in Delhi

BJP candidates were also leading in South Delhi and North West Delhi parliamentary constituencies.

Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma leads in West Delhi

Sitting Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma is leading against his AAP rival Balbir Singh Jakhar by 3,319 votes in the West Delhi Lok Sabha seat, they said.

BJP leads on all 7 seats

Massive surge for BJP in early trends, Gautam Gambhir leads from East Delhi.  

The EVMs are yet to be opened in New Delhi seat.

The Morning Rush! Counting of votes for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 underway at Siri Fort complex. (Pic courtesy: ANI)

All eyes on early trends

The polling officers will count around 16 lakh postal ballots in morning.

Discounting AAP?

Results will be definitely in favour of the Congress. We're expecting that Congress will win and form government at Centre. Rahul Gandhi will be the PM. The fight in Delhi is between BJP and Congress, says Congress leader Ajay Maken.

For national developments, follow this link

For all updates across India, click here

Call of the veteran

Sheila Dikshit, the Congress’ candidate for the North East Delhi constituency, is banking on her 15-year stint as chief minister to wrest the seat

The Comeback Queen

The battle

The elections for the seven parliamentary seats were largely a triangular contest among the incumbent BJP, a spirited Congress and the AAP. 

Numbers that matter

A total of 164 candidates contested the Lok Sabha elections from the seven seats in Delhi. Over 1.43 crore people were eligible to vote in the polls in Delhi, out of which 60.21 per cent exercised their franchise.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 09:22:36 PM