News Nation Logo

Delhi Metro services to start early on Lok Sabha election day - Check timings here

After 6:00 Am, The DMRC Will Follow The Normal Sunday Timetable Throughout The Day.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 11 May 2019, 05:06:08 PM
Delhi Metro timings (File Photo)

New Delhi:

On the occasion of 2019 Lok Sabha elections, which is slated for May 12 in the national capital, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has announced new metro train timings for the ease of commuters. Metros in and around Delhi NCR will start operating from 4:00 am instead of 6:00 am on all lines to ensure that the staff deployed in election duty can avail the facility on that day.

With one exception, trains on the Blue Line running between Dwarka Sector 21 and Vaishali will begin operations from 4.30 am on the election day. While trains will run with a frequency of 30 minutes from 4:00 am to 6:00 am, after that the DMRC will follow the normal Sunday timetable throughout the day.

Issuing a statement at its official website - - the DMRC said, "On the day of the Lok Sabha elections in Delhi on 12th May, 2019 (Sunday) the Delhi Metro train services on all lines will start from 4:00 am so that the staff deployed in election duty can avail the facility".

"The trains will run with a frequency of 30 minutes on all the lines till 6:00 am. After 6:00 am, Metro trains will run as per the normal Sunday timetable throughout the day. The trains going from Dwarka Sector 21 towards Vaishali will begin operations at 04.30 am," it added.

Delhi Metro's current span is 373 km and 271 stations, including the Noida-Greater Noida Aqua Line, and its average daily ridership is about 30 lakh.

All the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in Delhi is scheduled to go to polls in a single phase on May 12. The seats are - Chandni Chowk, East Delhi, New Delhi, North East Delhi, North West Delhi (SC), South Delhi and West Delhi. The counting of votes for seven phase Lok Sabha elections will take place on May 23.

In a thumping performance, the BJP had in 2014 Lok Sabha polls emerged victorious in all seven parliamentary constituencies in Delhi by a margin of more than one lakh votes as the party's vote share neared the 50 per cent mark.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 May 2019, 05:06:08 PM