News Nation Logo


EC to file FIR against BJP’s candidate Gautam Gambhir for violating Model Code of Conduct

The Election Commission Directed East Delhi Returning Officer To File An FIR Against BJP’s Candidate Gautam Gambhir For Violating The Model Code Of Conduct.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 27 Apr 2019, 02:07:06 PM
Gautam Gambhir (File Photo)

New Delhi:

The Election Commission (EC) on Saturday directed East Delhi Returning Officer to file an FIR against BJP’s candidate Gautam Gambhir for violating the Model Code of Conduct after he reportedly held a public meeting without permission.

Asking the Returning Officer of East Delhi constituency to file a case against the cricketer-turned-politician, the EC said that Gautam Gambhir must face action for “holding a political rally without taking permission".

“Gautam Gambhir had not taken permission for his rally on April 25 in Delhi's Jangpura, violating the model code of conduct,” the Election Commission added.

Earlier, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) filed a criminal complaint in Tis Hazari Court against Gautam Gambhir claiming he has two voter cards in two separate neighbourhoods in the city. Atishi, who is contesting Lok Sabha election from East Delhi, tweeted that it is criminal matter and called for immediate disqualification of Gautam Gambhir.

On April 22, BJP fielded former cricketer Gautam Gambhir from East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. The 37-year-old cricketer will be contesting against Congress candidate Arvinder Singh Lovely and Aam Aadmi Party’s Atishi.

The former opening batsman was recently conferred upon the Padma Shri award. After joining the party, the BJP candidate had said that he was impressed by the vision of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and will work for the country's welfare as a member of the party.   

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are being held in seven phases, starting from April 11. The first, second and third phase has been concluded. The fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh phase of polls will undergo on April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19 respectively. Voting is scheduled to take place in Delhi on May 12 in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections. The results will be declared on May 23.

It is worth mentioning here that the BJP had won all the seven seats of the national capital in the 2014 general elections.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Apr 2019, 01:36:19 PM